Change Your Own Oil?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by jonathan03, Jul 15, 2004.

1. jonathan03

jonathan03 Private E-2

I just got my oil changed and was shocked by the bill. What happened to a $20 oil change? So I was wondering, how hard/messy would it be to change your own oil? Would it be worth trying? Looking at some of the people who I saw there, it doesn't seem too complicated ;) Besides, it only took them 10 minutes. The only thing that I think could make it tough is not being able to lift the car like they do. It doesn't seem like it would require many tools. I'm not that experienced with cars, but I am able to do technical and mechanical things. So is it worth it to change my own oil?

2. Endi

Endi Lt. Links

3. TheDoug

TheDoug MajorGeek

It's not so much changing the oil that's the b**ch, it's the filter. Plus, you gotta figure-- even though they try to sell you air filters and wiper blades, that $24.99 also gets you fluids topped up, windows washed, tire pressure checked, and a vacuum. Look for a coupon in that Val-Pak envelope in the mail to save you a fiver. Or just do what I do-- tell them, damn, I left my coupon on the kitchen counter at home-- they'll give you a discount.

4. jonathan03

jonathan03 Private E-2

Gas stations accept oil? Will all gas stations take oil or only a few? I have never seen a sign or anything at a gas satation that said they would take used oil.

5. Njal

Njal Private E-2

Most any of your autoparts stores take oil, the rule of thumb is basically if they sell it (in quantity) they have to take it.

Changing the oil on most cars isn't too bad. However, consider the fact that for 5 quarts of a decent oil and a decent filter you could be spending $12-15 dollars.. So if they are charging you $20-25 is it really worth the hassle?

Nj

6. Just Playin

Just Playin MajorGeek