No sound, sound devices, mixer, etc.

Discussion in 'Software' started by griffer, Mar 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. griffer

griffer Private E-2

Hi. I am new to MajorGeeks. What I have read in the forums so far tells me that I am at the right place to get help.
    I ran "system recovery" and now I have no sound. After running some diagnostics, I got "sound error RESULT=0x88780078". I have tried numerous fixes without success. One thing I noticed today is when I went into BIOS to enable on board audio, it still reflects a Real Tek device which was the original device. How do I change the device that bios sees to the newer device that is in place? (Sound Blaster PCI 512) It was working just fine before the system recovery was run. I even bought a new sound card and driver but have the same results. Thanks for any advice that is out there. griffer

2. wildwolf220

wildwolf220 Oracle of Doom

:wave and welcome to MG's..

start a new thread HERE in the software forum.

you should get more advice in there.

good luck:major

3. musksnipe

musksnipe Guest

Just a quickie. Disable your onboard sound (Realtek) in BIOS, if that doesn't get you sound, start that thread.
    Welcome to MG. :wave

4. biddy187

biddy187 Private E-2

You must have the manufacturers MOBO chipset drivers for the Real Tek chipset in order to get sound evn if you use another sound card or not you will experience problems if you dont. I have had this and the only way was to get the MOBO drivers.

5. griffer

griffer Private E-2