Urgent problem w/Major Geeks recommended software by Auslogics

Discussion in 'Majorgeeks Welcome Center' started by KGHN, Jan 25, 2014.

1. KGHN

KGHN Private E-2

Sorry for double post - I posted in Software first and tried to contact, but I don't have enough regular posts yet to be allowed to PM. I'm trying to report this ASAP.

I have been using and enjoying Auslogics Registry Cleaner for several months. I picked up the new version 3.4.2.0 from Major Geeks a couple of days ago. When I tried to install it today, the installer tried to force Conduit software, which I believe to be malware or at least unwanted, onto my XP machine. It had several choices for Conduit installation, none of which were to not install it. The user agreement has a new section, too, that seems to relate to the new *heh* feature. I used Windows Task Manager to force the installer down after Registry Cleaner was installed, and before Conduit was installed. I am aghast. Major Geeks, please check into this. This is the first time I found Major Geeks' software library to be untrustworthy.

2. Palebushman

Palebushman Private E-2

Hi KGHN,
    The Corporal and Major are very guys, for an explanation of their activities you may find it worth your while taking a peek at this link:-
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/content/page/aboutcontact_us.html

As for the solution to your software problem, it will be interesting to see how it can be resolved.

3. Major Attitude

Major Attitude Co-Owner MajorGeeks.Com Staff Member

I'll be as nice as I can here, but I am really bad at it so bear with me. It's hard to politely say "you're wrong" :(

After it installs, the last thing it does is offer something Conduit with an opt-out. You missed it. I just downloaded and installed it in a safe environment with 4.3.2.0 to test for you and there it was. See attached photo.