White screen during startup for Win XP

Discussion in 'Software' started by NinjaPolar, Dec 16, 2014.

1. NinjaPolar

NinjaPolar Private E-2

Hi everybody,

For the past few weeks, this problem has been persisent everyday. I have been getting a gray white screen the moment I start up my computer. After that it will starts to gradually fade into white screen. My keyboard won't work at all so I can't boot from disk at all. I will add in more details below.

Background
    I have been using this Acer PC for at least five years and I have never encountered this problem before. I have been consistently using Window Xp for as long as I can remember. I'm using Service Pack 3 now. This problem began about three weeks ago.

Symptoms
    When this problem first begin about three weeks ago, the moment I boot up my PC, my screen will be grayish white and sometimes I will be able to see the Acer startup screen, and sometimes I can see the typical bootup screen, and sometimes it is just a grayish white screen. Then, the screen will starts to slowly fade into total whiteness. My keyboard won't work at all when this happens.

Recently, about three or four days ago, I believe it got worst. My PC will boot up showing a black screen, and then my monitor light will be blinking continuously. Then, I need to reboot the computer repeatedly before it shows the grayish white screen problem. I think I have rebooted my PC over 10 times.

Temporary solution
    My only temporary solution was to restart my PC about ten times before it will return to normal working condition. I'm getting tired of rebooting my PC over 10 times just to get it working normally. This is the best solution I have so far and I have tried a couple of solutions (limited to the resources that I have) already from googling such as checking the cable etc. The other solution would be buying a new PC together, but this isn't really a good solution because I might meet this problem in the future, even with my new PC.