Connecting RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BeerMonkey, Jul 14, 2004.

1. BeerMonkey

BeerMonkey Master Sergeant

Can some one take me through a lesson on how to connect more ram to my PC?
    I have never done it before so it would mean allot.
    Sites would be good aswell.
    Thanks.

2. BeerMonkey

One more thing...
    Do all Motherboards have only 3(THREE) RAM slots?
    I still need to check mine out, hopefully it will have more that 3.

3. NeoNemesis

NeoNemesis Moutharrhea

Shut down your computer and take off the side of the computer that is open (that you can see all the stuff in, the other side is just a piece of metal and that is all you see). Then look for a long stick that is like 6" long and is sticking up. It should be connected to the mobo sideways. Make sure that you are going to be using the same type of RAM as you currently are using now (SDRAM and DDR are different!). Then when you have made sure they are the same take the newly bought stick of RAM out. You are going to place the new RAM next to the old RAM in your mobo. Make sure you are putting it in the place that is identical to the old ram. Alright now to put it in you have to make sure you undo the clamps that secure the ram in place. You should be able to just use your figure to move the clips the opposite way. When the clips are facing away from the place to put the ram stick the ram in there and line it up straight and make sure you put it in all the way. Then close the clamps on the newly put in ram and make sure you here a slight click or something to make sure that you have put it in securely. Another way to check to make sure you have put it in securely is to try to take it out with your fingers again. If you can't take it out then you have put it in right. If you it jiggles around and is easy to come undone then you have fastened it correctly and try to make sure that you have it securely fastened in there again. The clamps should lock into the place holders on the ram.