Getting Frustrated!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by INeedAGig1210, Jul 13, 2006.

1. INeedAGig1210

INeedAGig1210 Private E-2

Alright, I am a custom computer builder, and have been for awhile. I have had my current system built for a little over a year now and just recently started having some trouble with my video card. I just upgraded from a 128MB Radeon X300SE-Guru to a 512MB Radeon X700.

Now, hear me out. I replaced the X300 for two reasons, it's upgrade time, and I was getting the whole "Thread Stuck in the Device Driver" error and crashes. Reference page here: http://oca.microsoft.com/en/response.aspx?SGD=c8b4d14a-6972-4d78-adce-dd31406aa163&SID=11

Now, I just recieved and installed my 512MB X700 yesterday and I am yet again, having the thread stuck error and crashing to a restart on every game I try to play except for Half-Life 2 and World of Warcraft. I have done the Registry Cleaning and stuff numerous times before replacing/upgrading the card, and I have done it once with the new one already.

Any suggestions, I am pretty damn computer smart and I am kinda scratching my head over here, is there any sort of catalyst so to speak or other device or problem that can be causing this issue?

My system specs are in my sig, thanks.

-Ryan

2. thesmokingun

thesmokingun MajorGeek

even tho you have already said you did, it does sound to me that you had a driver issue with the previous card, and by putting in another ati card, your just using the same drivers. use this utility:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/Driver_Cleaner_Professional_d3214.html

to clean the ati driver from your system ,and re-install.

3. INeedAGig1210

Alright, awesome, at least that program is specifically for ATI and Nvidia drivers, I will give it a shot, thanks.

4. INeedAGig1210

Mother ****er, it's still doing it...

5. rogvalcox

rogvalcox MajorGeek

Have you run a Memtest on your memory to make sure your ram is not going kaput!?!?!