Building First Computer – Help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tweak-Hunter, Apr 27, 2008.

1. Tweak-Hunter

Tweak-Hunter Private E-2

I need help building a computer, I have some assembly experience but basically no experience in picking out (good) hardware.

My desktop computers motherboard has gone bad after an electrical storm and I’m not entirely sure but I think I don’t think I’ll be able to use the hardrive on it either because I don’t think the bios on it will support anything but XP but I don’t really know because I am a newbie. However I don’t really care about the wimpy 80 GB hardrive on that machine anyway (there’s nothing important on that machine) I’ll use it as a second hardrive in my next machine if I can.

I’ll be aiming for about 3-4 GB of ram on this next machine I’m not sure but I think the motherboard has something to do with what kind of ram you can use.
    When I was looking around on the internet, and I pulled up the following motherboard… http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FVNWRC/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top/105-0613024-9501227 which looks promising, but I don’t really know.

I’ve got a Radieon 9600 XT graphics card, and I don’t know weather I need a new one or not yet, also I’d like to have a big hard drive, because I intend to duel boot different operating systems on this computer.
    I also like to play games. :D

2. BoredOutOfMyMind

BoredOutOfMyMind Picabo, ICU

TigerDirect has a good howto build a system.

Tiger is an Amazon partner.
    They have barebones kits that are deals on their site as well as components.

3. Fred_G

Fred_G Heat packin' geek

4. Tweak-Hunter

Tweak-Hunter Private E-2

Hmmmm
    So, If I buy that particular motherboard, will I have to buy a processor for it?
    Or does it come with one already?

I think this (from the look of it) would be the best choice for this particular motherbord...
    http://www.amazon.com/AMD-Athlon-Du...1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1209926594&sr=1-1