system BSoD after BIOS Configuration

Discussion in 'Software' started by Malkavian, Aug 10, 2005.

1. Malkavian

Malkavian Private E-2

hello, i have had odd errors with my computer before, but managed to solved them, but i have no experience with BIOS and startup in general. My system spec. is:
    AMD athlon xp 2700
    1GB DDR RAM (2x512mb pc2700 333mhz)
    ATI Radeon 9200
    Motherboard is something like MSI MS-6734 KM4M

Recently i had problems with the RAM but managed to get it sorted by buying a new chip, but now when i try to change settings in the BIOS i get errors when it trys to boot afterwards. i have an onboard LAN card in this motherboard and when i go into BIOS to activate it, when it tries to boot i get BSoD's which aren't very specific, under technical information it'll say something about ACPI.sys or Ntfs.sys
    Am really confused as this is a very new problem with this computer like the day after i fixed the RAM problem
    only other thing wrong with the computer is sometimes i'll have a pop-up on desktop saying
    'windows - no disk'
    'please insert disk in drive'
    that's all it says, after scanning with spybot i get results, and upon deleting them, i no longer get the pop-up, till the items that appear in spybot appear again, which i find after scanning again when the pop-up starts appearing again.
    I really hope you can help me out with this problem
    thanks in advance for any help available

2. da chicken

da chicken MajorGeek

For the BIOS thing, try going into your BIOS and look for something that says "reset extended system configuration data" or "reset ESCD" or "reset ACPI data". If you don't find anything, toggle the "Plug and Play OS" or "PnP OS" setting (if it's no, set to yes, and vice versa). You could also try discharging your CMOS and reconfiguring the BIOS from scratch.

Not sure about popups.

3. theefool

theefool Geekified