I've got a virus but my virus scanner doesn't detect it.

Discussion in 'Software' started by ColonelAngus, Feb 14, 2005.

1. ColonelAngus

ColonelAngus Beefy

Hey, everyone. Long time no Geek.

I'm no newbie to viri and computer security so please don't suggest obvious things to do.

I stupidly downloaded and opened something off Kazaa and got infected. It was a N0-CD crack for Halo. Anyway, it disapeared when I opened the file. I knew I screwed up when it happened. I scanned with AntiVir (my virus scanner) and it didn't find anything. I also used my Ad-Aware, Spybot, and Avast. They too did not find anything. I even searched my hard drive and manualy deleted thing's that I knew shouldn't be there in my WINDOWS/SYSTEM 32 folder.

I thought everything was fine until I tried to email a friend and they told me they couldn't recieve the attachment I sent because there was a virus. They can receive the email but not the attatchment. That's where the virus hides.

I also noticed things asking for internet access which I blocked with my Zone Alarm. I manually found and deleted those things. I forget their names.

The friend who received the infected email said that the virus found (it was un-named) was unable to be cured.

Can someone please help me.

Specs:

Windows XP
    P4 2.0 Ghz
    384 mbs RAM
    Service Pack 2
    I don't know if the specs matter or help, but whatever.

2. Matacumbie

Matacumbie Rocky Top

Hey Colonel,

Just a thought, whatever anti-virus picked it up on the other end (in the email) might find it.

See what they are using and scan with it, if it's free or maybe offers an online scan.

Good luck. :)

Steve

3. ColonelAngus

ColonelAngus Beefy

Hi, Matacumbie.

That's a good idea, but I sent it to my friends hotmail account and the hotmail server picked it up. There must be a way to find out what virus I have. I will look into how hotmail detects viri.

4. ColonelAngus

ColonelAngus Beefy