Do I need a wireless bridge or something else?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cjmsonyps2, Dec 8, 2004.

1. cjmsonyps2

cjmsonyps2 Private E-2

To start, I am new to wireless networking. While I am technical and pretty smart, networking and wireless is new to me....

Ok, here goes. I have a PC upstairs and a Playstation 2 and soon to be x-box downstairs. Additionally, downstairs I have a D-Link Wireless Media Player. The media player communicates with the PC thru a wireless router, also by D-Link.

I want to connect both the PS2 and X-box to the internet, presumably thru the router. I am wondering what the best way to do this is.

I see a wireless bridge available, but it only allows connection of 1 piece of equipment. So I need 2?? Is there another option?

Being relatively new to this, I had thought perhaps moving the router and DSL modem to the room where the pS2/x-box/dsm are and connecting those directly to the router and then buy a PCI card for the PC upstairs. Will this work. If not, any other suggestions.

Someone on another board suggested something they called an AP? What is that??

Sorry to be so long winded with this, but any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm seeking options that are inexpensive and easy to set up and maintain.

Cheers.

2. cat5e

cat5e MajorGeek

3. RickM

RickM Private First Class