What's my best option?

Discussion in 'Software' started by leadster618, Aug 6, 2007.

1. leadster618

leadster618 Private E-2

Hi Major Geeks, I'm a college student (paying my own way) and I have no money to purchase an antivirus or a spyware protector. My college offers McAfee for free but everyone I have talked to says its only caused them problems. So I chose to use avast! instead. I haven't had any problems in terms of viruses or spyware so far. Currently I am using Avast! and Spybot Immunizations along with Ad-Aware. Is this enough? Is there anything more I can do in terms of free protection? I am also using the regular windows firewall. I thought I read that there is a really good free firewall but I don't know what it is. I have tried searching on my own, but every anti virus, anti spyware and firewall program say they are the best, so I'm left confused. I guess what I'm asking is: What is considered the best free antivirus program, anti spyware, and firewall? Thanks in advance for taking your time to help.

2. leadster618

leadster618 Private E-2

oh and I forgot to mention I have already read all of your "Read these first" threads...but they list multiple options so that's why I'm asking for what you consider "the best" in your personal opinions.

3. hopperdave2000

hopperdave2000 MajorGeek