System can't find environment option?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Hawaiianflowergirl, Mar 29, 2008.

1. Hawaiianflowergirl

Hawaiianflowergirl Private E-2

When I try to access a program or a system file, I get the msg:
    "The system can't find the environment option that was entered"

I have virtually no access to anything on my computer. No Control Panel, virtually no programs...nothing.

Tried accessing them in Safe Mode, but still no luck.

Your expertise would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Oh, I'm running Vista Business. Please let me know if you need more info...I'm a NOVICE , so go easy.:eek:

2. Adrynalyne

Adrynalyne Guest

Go to Start, and in the search box, type cmd and hit enter.

Then type path and hit enter. What does it say?

For example:

Attached Files:

3. Hawaiianflowergirl

It says PATH=C:\Windows\System32

4. Hawaiianflowergirl

But what does it mean???
    Anyone??
    Anyone??

Help...(she says...meekly...):confused

5. Hawaiianflowergirl

Also...when I try to access Control Panel, Device Manager, System, Administrative Tools, etc. I get a message that says
    "System can't find %windir%\system32\etc...etc...

I even tried to access the Registry Editor via the Cmd Prompt, but it says 'regedit' is not recognized as an internal or external command.
    and...
    the right side of my keyboard is all screwed up. At one time, it only worked when I was logged in as the Administrator, then only when I was in Safe Mode. When I logged off as Administrator and logged back on under my usual account, the keyboard worked fine, for about a week, now it's screwed up again, and no, I didn't spill anything on it.
    and...
    Every time I boot up, the volume icon tells me there is no audio detected. Previously, I could access Device Manager where I would have to go in and manually enable it, but I had to do this every time I rebooted, now I can't even access devmgr.
    and...