Firewall rules ?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Vision Master, Jun 4, 2003.

1. Vision Master

Vision Master Private E-2

Hi I need some help setting up my firewall on my router. It is a DI-614+ What goes in the source and destination IP range start and IP range end boxes? Does it want my Lan IP address or my Wan IP address or my default gateway address or a combo of these. Also What should go into the protocol port range? Sorry for the long post ,I am new to this network stuff and the manuel that came with this router is not very clear on how to set it up. I have attched a screen shot of the setup screen.
    Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Draith

Draith Private E-2

hey vision master,

unfortunately I can't help you with everything dealing with your firewall, but i can help a bit. I'm also pretty positive that someone else out here can elaborate further and give better description (correct my errors, and anything i miss). Disclaimer aside, here's what i see:

First off, this page is for Firewall Rules - meaning individual things for your firewall to look for and either allow or deny, mainly connections from outside your network or inside your network.

From what i see, in order to write your own rules for the firewall, you need to first enable the option (at the top of the page) and then you can begin writing each rules - giving them descriptive names and setting them either as a rule for allowing this kind of access, or denying.