Windows Home Edition booting issues

Discussion in 'Software' started by ghost gamer, Sep 21, 2004.

1. ghost gamer

ghost gamer Private E-2

Hello everyone, newbie here. Here are the specs to my pc that has been giving me booting issues:

fx 53-939 pin
    asus a8v/wireless edition-american megatrends bios-latest version
    1 gig mushkin ram pc 3200/low latency/heatspreaders
    liteon cd-rw
    liteon dvd
    western digital 120 gig SATA/7200 rpm/8 mb cache
    ati x 800 xt p.e.-cat 4.8
    sound blaster audigy 2 zs
    enermax 600 watt noisetaker
    creative labs megaworks speakers
    windows home edition (service pack 1)
    dx 9.0b

My problem is that the pc tends to not reliably boot up. Sometimes it will get to the windows home edition loading screen and then just hang there. Or it will make it to the blue welcome screen and then hang there. Also, sometimes it will make it to the desktop, but the bottom tool bar is gone.

Nothing is overclocked and temps are fine. It does this randomly. Lately, it has been booting fine. I have not yet reformatted/reinstalled windows. I ran memtest through three passes with no errors. I also ran Western Digital diagonistics (quick test and extended test) on the hard drive with no errors.

I ran norton anti virus, none detected.

Could it be a driver issue for the SATA drive? I am not familiar with this type of drive. I checked the driver date on the SATA drive and its like 7/7/2001.

Any ideas? I appreciate any help, cause this is driving me buggy.Thanks!

2. mcadam

mcadam Major Amnesia

hmmmm it occassionally hangs there..... tricky. perhaps your windows folder has become corrupt and needs to be repaired in the windows setup options? is everything set to correct in BIOS and have you got all the latest drivers for your hardware? (can get them free at www.driverguide.com )

3. Wavetar

Wavetar Sergeant