Lightning Protection

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hrothgar, May 2, 2008.

1. hrothgar

hrothgar Private E-2

I live in a region prone to frequent violent thunderstorms. Many, including myself, have sustained damage to their computers during such events via telephone line connections. The protective device that I currently, which also incorporates a battery back-up power supply, successfully blocked a recent incident but now needs to be repaired as a consequence. It occurred to me that what might be a better idea is a small plastic fuse box equipped with input and output jacks. The easily replaceable and inexpensive fuse or fuses within would be of an amperage below that which could fry a modem or worse. No one seems to offer anything like this, however. Not being an electrical engineer am I overlooking something that would make this concept infeasible?

2. lbmest

lbmest MajorGeek

I'm not an engineer either, but common sense would tell me that the over-voltage from a lightning strike would leak past a cheap fuse in the time it would take to burn it. We are talking milliseconds here and the fact that your surge protector needs repairing says that it did it's job in protecting your comp from a massive over-voltage.
    You get what you pay for.;)

3. hrothgar

hrothgar Private E-2

You may be right. If someone could design a more practical phone line surge protection device, however, I'm sure that it would sell well. I'm not entirely sold on the current combinations due to the fact that they need to be repaired once used. Since it's usually only the phone line surge protection circuitry that gets fried, it would make more sense to offer separate devices for modem surge protection, perhaps in the form of disposable six packs. If the cost of each unit is less than your time plus gasoline it would seem to be a more economical way to go.

4. dlb

dlb MajorGeek