Gateway E Series Audio Driver

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by AaronHanson007, Mar 11, 2009.

1. AaronHanson007

AaronHanson007 Private E-2

Hello,

I am a technician for a public school and we got a heck of a deal on three Gateway E series desktop computers. I reformatted and got everything up and running but I am missing the audio driver.

I've tried about 5 different drivers, and the ones that I find from Intel or Gateway I get a "SoundMAX driver not found: please reboot your system and try again" error. And of course that doesn't work.

I loaded into Ubuntu 8.4.0 and found the driver is: 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC '97 Audio Controller - Intel V 2.0 which gives a very vague description.

According the mobo specs the driver i need to find is:

SoundMAX 4 XL with AudioESP audio subsystem* using the Analog Devices AD1985 codec

Which I found and didn't work. i have my everest report as well.

I'm about to throw these computers through a window. Anyone got any advice they can offer me?

Thanks,

Aaron

Attached Files:

2. collinsl

collinsl MajorGeek

3. AaronHanson007

Nope,

that basically gives me an very long lesson on how the controller really works and what not.

Anything else?

4. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

5. AaronHanson007

I had those drivers, and were actually the first ones i tried.

I read the troubleshoot for the Audio Driver installation and tried it all. I even went through the trouble of reformatting with audio disabled. and enabled it when all drivers were installed.

I want to say its a hardware issue, but i would just have to say its unlikely that three of the exact same desktops won't load the driver.

Any more ideas?

Aaron

6. Novice

Novice MajorGeek

7. AaronHanson007

No luck. The driver doesnt work for a SP3 system or a SP2 system. I got desperate enough and tried to see if "tricking" the system to thinking i have Sp1 would help but no such luck.

Ah just one more reason Linux is better than Microsoft :p