Modem to modem network ??

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ACE 256, Nov 23, 2005.

1. ACE 256

ACE 256 MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Overclocking Expe

Ok im a complete noob when it comes to networking....Is it passable to use 2 modems to network 2 PCs ? If so how fast whould it be.. fast enough to game across ???? Runing a network cable the distance i need isent feasable but thare allready is a phone line running betwean them....so it would be really nice if we can use it instead...Both systems are running XP pro....Ty for any help...

2. Colemanguy

Colemanguy MajorGeek

Its possible, google for null modem cable, but it would be like playing online at 56k.

3. dedub

dedub Corporal

Im assuming your asking if you can use 2 Phone type modems for telephone lines. The answer is no (I think) I have tried but the problem is you need that 90v or so that the phone line provides to even activate the dialing sequence bla bla bla. You can use a Null modem cable like Coleman guy suggested but that is for your 9 pin serial port, its also possible to nullmodem two Parallel ports. A little faster but not worth the effort. If its gaming you want to do between two computers then incorporating two Network cards is the ticket. If one or neither of the computers do not have network cards then you could purchase them fairly cheap at any store. They come in many configurations, USB, PCI, PCMCIA in wired and wireless. The only other hardwire required is a crossover cable. You could purchase a cheap switch (recommended) to put inbetween the two computers, especially if you plan on expanding to other computers.
    good luck

4. ACE 256

I have network cards and all but i have no way of getting a network cable that long...I know its posable to network 2 PCs using only a phone line and 2 56K modems iv seen it done but i have no clue how to do it....

5. dedub

dedub Corporal

I this while you both are online? How far exactly is the distance?

6. ACE 256