newbie help please

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by phx, Jul 13, 2005.

1. phx

phx Private E-2

I Just Bought and put together-

AMD 64 3000+
    ASUS A8N-E Mobo
    2x512 Dual Channel Twinmos Memory
    Leadtek 6600GT 128mb

i have a problem, everything is on, all the fans are working the fan on graphics card, cpu etc etc... but when i turned it on for the first time the monitor just stays blank and has the standby orange light on, when i remove the monitor from the computer it asks me to connect something to the monitor.

this is my first time putting a computer together so im pretty newbie, if anyone can help me with regard to getting everything working please post... thanks

(if i haven't included some needed info, please post)

2. risk_reversal

risk_reversal MajorGeek

Do a barebones configuration, ie mobo, cpu, vga & ram (one stick only) preferably with the mobo out of the case. Make sure the ram and vga are inserted correctly and firmly seated. Connect the speaker to the mobo header so that you can hear any beeps made.

Try booting again and see what happens. Listen to and make a note of any beeps that are made. As you are aware there should only only be one short beep at post signalling that everything is fine.

The fact that your monitor retains the orange standby light is suggesting that it the monitor is not receiving a signal from the vga (either that or the monitor is on the blink). If you have a spare monitor just try it to elliminate that hw from the process.

EDIT: As regards the bios, have you made any changes. If so load bios default.

Good Luck

3. phx

phx Private E-2

Yeah i tried two different monitors.

4. risk_reversal

risk_reversal MajorGeek

In which case follow the barebones set up as described above and see whether you have the same issue.

If you are still getting the same problem, substitute the vga (6600gt) with another card and see whether that solves.