LCD TV Screen Burn/Clouding Fix

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by superstar, Dec 2, 2013.

1. superstar

superstar Major-Superstar

Long time no see guys!

I've got a problem, one that I'm not an expert on. Basically I have a big LCD tv made by LG that I got back in 2009. It's worked absolutely fine over the years. I've never had a problem with it until now. Whenever it would get dirty I would often see dust buildup very lightly every four months. I'd wipe it away with a store bought LCD tv screen cleaner liquid and a clean microfiber cloth. Same deal every four months until...

Lately I've been having sleeping problems. So I decided to make use of the aquarium channel on my HD cable box. Basically it's a channel that shows a live aquarium with water flow noise all day long. Mind you I know about screen burn in. But I didn't think it would be a problem to leave the channel on while I slept this past month. Because the channel goes fully black every 15/20 mins.

Then came the day a week ago where I was watching a movie and noticed what looked to be very clouded areas on the tv. Almost like dark smudges... I figured it was dirty so I went ahead and cleaned it. That didn't remove anything, so I cleaned it again. Only to realize its not dirt, it's clouded areas of darkness on different parts of the screen. I believe that even though the aquarium channel (which I would let run it's course for 7/8 hours every night this past month), has probably caused some sort of clouding/burn in because some parts of the aquarium were black. By that I mean the fake reefs in the aquarium which were never really lit up, so when the screen would automatically go fully black every once in a while that probably didn't help at all because some areas were always dark.