ntoskrnl.exe BSODs - Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium

Discussion in 'Software' started by Heskey, Apr 12, 2014.

1. Heskey

Heskey Private First Class

Hi all,

Since the last week in March I've been getting BSODs; sometimes a few days a part, and sometimes two or three times a day, but always whilst playing The Elder Scrolls Online. I play a Battlefield 2 mod called Project Reality quite extensively and haven't had a single crash with that relating to this. This problem has only started in the last 2-3 weeks since playing ESO.

Back in December 2013 I had major issues with memory related BSODs whilst playing World of Warcraft and satrow was very helpful in identifying the issue and directing me to get new RAM under warranty, which solved the issue. Since then I've had no problems, until I started playing The Elder Scrolls Online at the very end of March this year.

It began by constantly CTD'ing, with the standard error report form the game throws up "The game has crashed, tell us what you were doing at the time and submit this software report to us" kind of thing. I would re-load the game and move a few paces before it would CTD again, but at other times I could play for 2-3 hours without a single issue.

I suspected my GPU drivers needed updating for this brand new game, and so I used ATI's driver cleaner to remove all ATI/AMD related drivers on the suggestion of one of my older brothers, before installing the new updated beta drivers.

I think the driver cleaner removed my chipset drivers for my Asus P8Z77-V MOBO and so I reinstalled those.

Since doing this, the game-related crashes have become less frequent but I've started getting BSODs, which Bluescreenview tells me relates to ntoskrnl.exe

I'm about to go away for the weekend so haven't had much time to look into this, but a few Google searches bring up forums where people basically say "the best way to fix is a reformat" but I'd really like to avoid that if possible.