vb6 Saving Strings and Integers

Discussion in 'Software' started by mastermosley, Oct 18, 2005.

1. mastermosley

mastermosley Sergeant

I have a big problem. I have made a program that stores your Hosting information like Database, FTP login and stuff and I have a loggin at the beggining. I am really new to VB6 so i dont no if i am doing this right anyway.

First I made a module and declared my strings:

dim strUsername as string
    dim strPassword as string

I want to be able to save the strings becuase I have a settings area in the program that allows you to change your username and password and stuff. How do I save the strings so next time I log on and when I switch forms the password will be stored in the string and I will have to use the password that I changed it to.

I also have a bunch of other strings that hold the ftp and database information also.

Can you give me some code and explain it please?

Thanks in advance,

2. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

use a public property in a module

google VB6 public properties

3. mastermosley

mastermosley Sergeant

So if i use these global strings and stuff they will save automatically or do i use code for that?

4. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

please define what you mean by save..
    in memory as in a session or to a file?

5. mastermosley

mastermosley Sergeant

Ok I figured out how to set public integers so everything saves so that i can move around the program and the integers have the same stuff and i can call them anywhere.

Now i want to save the strings to a file so that the information stored in the strings will be there after I close the program and re-start it. Can you help me out with this please?

6. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

splash screens are good for this.. you load up a splash screen (it's just another form) and in that form you load the data from the file and populate properties in an module like you did just before.

Saving and reading from the file can be done using the FileSystemObject