Acer Extensa, wifi working but now no audio input!

Discussion in 'Software' started by Geekamnot, Nov 12, 2010.

1. Geekamnot

Geekamnot Private E-2

OK, I'm beginning to get a little disappointed with Ubuntu!

I have been using it for three years now, sometimes happily but most of the time with many problems. I had no problems on my old PC. But since purchasing my Acer Extensa 4420 it has been nothing but problems. I realize a lot has to to with my computer, not Ubuntu. I am running a 32 bit version of Ubuntu 10.10 on an AMD 64 machine. This is a new install. People had suggested I use the 32 bit version as supposedly it has fewer problems.

I just solved my wifi problem, by installing this version. First I was elated, when I found not only my wifi switch was suddenly on, but that I was actually finally able to connect to my verizon router without a cable!

Then came the disappointment! It seems every time I get something tweaked, something else goes wrong. I use an external HD for storage of the many files I have. I was able to drag files from my pc over to it. I can no longer do this, as Ubuntu opens my folders in Firefox. I only get an index of files. I do not see a folder view.
    I use my pc mostly for editing photos. I love Gimp! It's a wonderful application.
    I also use my pc to edit and burn dvd's. I download both travel clips as well as old movies from different sources on the internet. I use "Download Helper" for this purpose. It too works well, never had a problem. Then I use DeVeDe to compile these clips into longer movies. All works fine, or has worked fine under other versions of Ubuntu.

Perhaps my mistake is updating. Perhaps I should leave things alone, and never use update manager! Many of my problems occur after updates.