Programs open with notepad

Discussion in 'Software' started by Slinky, Mar 25, 2004.

1. Slinky

Slinky Private E-2

:confused: everytime i try to open a program (for example, word) it doesnt run like its supposed to, it just opens up notepad and all these weird words appear, im not that experienced with a computer, so i dunno how to make that stop, could someone help this clueless slinky???

2. Rataplan

Rataplan Private E-2

is it a window in word that opens notepad or notepad on itself?

3. Slinky

Slinky Private E-2

Sorry, my OS is...

um, my operating system is Microsoft Windows xp Home edition, 5.1.2600 well, its not only with word, it also happens with winamp, msn, acrobat, IM secure, and a bunch of other programs, i tried to open a file with notepad yesterday, so im thinking it has something to do with that:confused:

4. Rataplan

Rataplan Private E-2

heh, bizar prob

what does the shortcut from.. let's say.. winamp say? (right-click, properties --> what does start in say?)

5. Adrynalyne

Adrynalyne Guest

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shell\open\command
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\exefile\shell\open\command

What are the vlues of these keys?

6. Slinky

Slinky Private E-2

Welll...i tried to scan my computer with norton antivirus but the thing also opens with notepad, i tried to open a file called 'perfectnav uninstall' because there's this page that kept trying to force its way into the internet explorer that was also called 'perfectnav', so i searched my computer to see why that happened, and i came accross this file, so im thinking maybe ill get rid of it this way... that was probably a mistake. Anyway i tried opening it but i couldnt, so i tried again with notepad and nothing happened so i said 'what the hell' and i deleted it. thats when this thing started. I had scanned my computer for viruses before this, while the damn thing was still haunting me but it always came up clean... :(