Best pc games and memories playing them

Discussion in 'Software' started by lego126, Jul 23, 2009.

1. lego126

lego126 DJ's Geeky Dad

I'm just curious about what you all think are the best PC games ever..
    Here are my top 3
    3:Baldur's gate-- This was really my first RPG style with the newer graphics, it really turned me on to RGPs, and D&d

2:Ansalon--MUD-- This was a text based RPG, but I started playing it when I was in the 4th grade, we didn't have a computer, but we had this key board, that we plugged into the TV, then we would have to plug this modem thing into the side of the keyboard. The modem looked like an 8-track tape or something, then we'd have to dial the # and wait for the connection. :cool
    There wasn't any searching or anything, I seem to remember having to type like the EXACT name of the address and weird stuff. I still play MUDs to this day.. Anyone wanna try http://www.ansalonmud.com/

1: would have to be D&D Secret of the Silver Blades. I begged my mom for it at Wal-mart after digging around in the clearance bin. I think it was like 9.99 or something. it came fully loaded with 6- 3.5 floppies, and game manual, and game journal, I still play it at least once a year. It never gets old. below
    are some screen shots from the game, and This game and most all old games are free download at http://www.abandonia.com/en/game
    You just have to use Dosbox or something to run them.

Attached Files:

2. augiedoggie

augiedoggie The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)

A nostalgic thread. :cool

My first game was Captain Comic (free ATT) (youtube walkthrough) on a 286 with an EGA monitor, then there was the Leisure Suit Larry series, Space Quest, King's Quest and Quest for Glory. Sierra ruled in those days! ^.^

I used dosbox with XP successfully but I can't get it to work in Vista though I haven't tried too hard as of yet to get it going.