Web Hosting

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Adrynalyne, Dec 21, 2013.

1. Adrynalyne

Adrynalyne Guest

Looking for some opinions on web hosting companies.

I am currently with GoDaddy, but I need a Windows server (Im on Linux right now) for asp.net.

I found 1and1 for 1.99 a month, but am curious if anyone has any other suggestions in the same price range.

2. gman863

gman863 MajorGeek

1&1 usually has better pricing and (from what I've heard) good customer service.

Their slogan should be "We skipped Danica Patrick and the Super Bowl to pass the savings on to you." :-D

3. Adrynalyne

Adrynalyne Guest

Bwahaha, well played sir. :-D

4. joffa

joffa Major Geek's Official Birthday Announcer

I don't want to tell you how to suck eggs but you probably know that Go Daddy has windows accounts too ;)
    I have been using Go Daddy for about 10 years and the only times it has been down was for a couple of hours when they were doing upgrades. There are lots of bad reviews for Go Daddy service but they always get back to me within hours of an email and any problems have always been fixed ASAP (even when they were my fault lolol) :cool
    Here in Australia hosting is about 10 times dearer for quarter the storage and bandwidth :(

Just in case you don't know rolleyes
    http://support.godaddy.com/help/article/2520/should-i-choose-a-windows-or-linux-hosting-account

To enable asp.net on your Go Daddy windows account
    http://support.godaddy.com/help/article/6232/enabling-aspnet-40-on-your-windows-hosting-account

5. Adrynalyne

Adrynalyne Guest

Yep, and GoDaddy wants 6.99 a month for me to switch servers. I've no interest in continuing for that price.

Hence the thread;)

6. BoredOutOfMyMind

BoredOutOfMyMind Picabo, ICU

another vote for 1&1 and another unhappy former GoDaddy user.

7. Adrynalyne

Adrynalyne Guest

I was able to convert my account, but I will be switching in a few months to 1and1.

8. Shadowchaser

Shadowchaser A Really Great Guy