Acer Aspire One recovery stuck at 99%

Discussion in 'Software' started by killswitch67, Sep 1, 2011.

1. killswitch67

killswitch67 Private E-2

Hi Folks,

I have an ACER One (Model A0531h) netbook. I have now tried several times to recovery it to factory settings using the built in recovery partition. I access this recovery partition by using Alt-f10 during boot. The recovery runs fine up until 99% where it 'sticks'.. for days..The application running the recovery is Acer eRecovery Manager v7.5.15. I have also recovering using the recovery DVD's which I burned. They seem to go through the process but then when I restart the system I get a black screen complaining about missing files. I am then instructed to run recovery...This is driving me crazy.

Please note that I am an IT engineer by trade and have recovered literally hundreds of these devices from all manufacturers with no issues.

I have also reseated the RAM but dont want to have to strip of the cover to reseat hard drive. I can however hear it running and I have also used Active@boot to reformat the C drive. The recovery partition has not been touched and is not damaged. It runs perfectly up to 99%.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated..

2. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

Have you contacted Acer describing the problem with both types of recovery tried?
    I purchased an eMachine (also owned by Acer as is Gateway) in 2009 and when I had problems, I e-mailed tech support. Support was very helpful.
    I have an Acer netbook (722) which is only a few weeks old. I have not tried either recovery method. But if I need to use either the eRecovery software or my burned DVDs and they refuse to work, I'll email support.

3. craigywaigy76

craigywaigy76 Private E-2