MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-06, 16:13
dumezil dumezil is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Do I have a Bad motherboard??

So I built a computer from the ground up. I put it all together and I get no display. In fact I do not believe it is running POST. I have made sure that everything is plugged in and connected right. Im not sure if there is any kind of compadability issue, although there doesnt seem to be at least on paper. Im pretty sure that the power supply (500 watts) is sufficent although I dont know how to even check that. The video card says it needs 450watts so I guess it would be enough. There is no VGA connection on the video card, only DVI and no video out put at all on the motherboard. so another thing I was thinking was that maybe some kind of software needs to be installed for the video card to work in any capacity. Its a PCI express and I have never built a PC with PCI express before so Im not sure. Im wondering if the mother board is bad. Thanks for the help. Here are the specs,
Motherboard- ECS P965T-A (V1.0) P965 775
CPU- INTEL|CORE 2 E6400 2.13G 775 R
video card- PCI express ATI X1800XT 256MB 100-435840 R
RAM- 1Gx2|MUSHKIN DII667 991503 R
HDD- 80G SATA
Power Supply- 500watt
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-04-06, 16:26
prankz prankz is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

in order solve a pc problem we use a trial and error method. one by one remove ur hardware at the same time switch on the pc to see if it boots...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-06, 16:39
dumezil dumezil is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

ok Ive done so and i get no boot. I have swaped out every part save the processor because I do not have another that will be compatible to the board. There is no hard drive hooked up. There is no cd rom hooked up. Only motherboard CPU vid card and RAM. Does that sound like the symptoms of a bqad motherboard. I have no idea which direction to go in at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-06, 16:47
prankz prankz is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

ok so i take it u swapped the gfx card with another? the same for the RAM too? btw is the RAM in right slot?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-06, 16:54
dumezil dumezil is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

yes, yes and yes. Any Ideas??
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 09-04-06, 17:08
prankz prankz is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

ok in that case, its either the CPU or mobo at fault. its difficult to test these without a spare CPU or mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-06, 17:54
dumezil dumezil is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

I pulled everything apart and found that one of the pins on the mobo where the cpu connects is broken... I guess thats it?? What do you think??
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-06, 18:10
prankz prankz is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

ah u mean the cpu fan connector?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-04-06, 18:44
viper_boy403's Avatar
viper_boy403 viper_boy403 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: McKinleyville, CA
Posts: 2,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

dont think a bad fan connector would cause that. If you can, I'd RMA the mobo as those are usually the symptoms of a dead mobo. Thats what happened when my old mob died.
__________________
What the F?!?!?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-04-06, 18:45
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,899
Thanks: 452
Thanked 4,700 Times in 4,437 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

Quote:
Originally Posted by dumezil
I pulled everything apart and found that one of the pins on the mobo where the cpu connects is broken... I guess thats it?? What do you think??
Definitly.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 09-04-06, 18:54
viper_boy403's Avatar
viper_boy403 viper_boy403 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: McKinleyville, CA
Posts: 2,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

oooooooooooooooooo i thought it was a fan connector for sum reason........ahhh confusion lol :

Yea, a broken CPU pin will give u mucho problems
__________________
What the F?!?!?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-04-06, 19:22
prankz prankz is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

wait major confusion. he said 'one of the pins on the mobo where the cpu connects is broken...' doesnt that mean a pin on the mobo itself?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-04-06, 20:08
dumezil dumezil is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

The actual pins where the cpu is mounted onto the board. One of them is clearly broken. I have not seen this design before. I remember the older ones had the straight pins these are like smaller and angled. Im sorry I cant explain any better then that. I posted the specs earlier. I guess back to newegg she goes. Hope they wont give me a problem when I try to send it back.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-05-06, 01:02
viper_boy403's Avatar
viper_boy403 viper_boy403 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: McKinleyville, CA
Posts: 2,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Do I have a Bad motherboard??

could u post a picture?
__________________
What the F?!?!?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger