MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-06, 23:09
MeitHed's Avatar
MeitHed MeitHed is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 324
Thanks: 28
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Upload is faster than download

Greetings, all!

I am running XP home on an Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 with 1 gig of RAM.

I am paying for a 1Meg down with 512 upstream thru a Motorola Surfboard modem.

As far as I understand these things, My download should be a bit faster than my upload.. But it seems backward..

Is there anything I can do to fix this?

Thanks,
Meit
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-21-06, 22:54
theefool's Avatar
theefool theefool is offline
Post and Run Geek #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6,932
Thanks: 133
Thanked 263 Times in 249 Posts
Default Re: Upload is faster than download

What is your speed using this link:?

http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/
  #3  
Old 09-22-06, 00:33
MeitHed's Avatar
MeitHed MeitHed is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 324
Thanks: 28
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Upload is faster than download

413 down and 477 up..
  #4  
Old 09-24-06, 18:15
rosewoodtech rosewoodtech is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Upload is faster than download

the only thing you can do is make sure you do not have any other devices on your network using bandwidth. the up/down stream is controlled by the service provider and physics. call them and have them to a check of the line
  #5  
Old 09-25-06, 02:41
ardebaran ardebaran is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Upload is faster than download

If no bandwidth is used, probably you motorola surfboard isnt configured as it should !! call your ISP to check this!!
Sponsored links
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:55.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger