MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-06, 17:00
TheBarron3166 TheBarron3166 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Power Failure

I've built a computer for one of my buddies and I'm supposed to return the finish product by the end of the week. I worked on it all day yesterday and it seemed to be working fine. I uploaded some programs on it which prompted restart and it did so without problems. However when I shut down and then preceeding to turn it back on it ran for about 5 seconds and then kicked off (before POST finished-no beep). I noticed that the CMOS battery was not in place which was weird cause I know it had to be for me to have booted originally. So I replaced the batt and turned it back on- worked fine after I configured the BIOS again. I got up this morning and swtiched it on and it happend again (5 sec then shut down) except this time the battery was in place. Any ideas? (i checked the jumper on CMOS its in normal position however I didn't use the jumper clear ram setting when I put the batt back in could this be a possible cause? Also below the clr ram jumpers are some jumpers for the chassis which settings are nowhere to be found in MOBO manuel could this be a possible cause?)
specs
Asus M2n-SLI deluxe MOBO
Geforce 7600gt
AMD 4200+
2x 1gb DDR2 mem
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-21-06, 17:56
theefool's Avatar
theefool theefool is offline
Post and Run Geek #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6,725
Thanks: 113
Thanked 232 Times in 219 Posts
Default Re: Power Failure

What settings are you configuring in the bios? You are not overclocking are ye?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-06, 23:17
TheBarron3166 TheBarron3166 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Power Failure

No not OC. I set all BIOS settings to default the only thing i changed was the the boot order.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger