MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-06, 18:47
ed565's Avatar
ed565 ed565 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default virtual memory low

hi can anyone tell me how to fix this.message keeps coming up when my pc is on .virtual memory to low. the pc says it's increasing more space but it's now starting to load very slow.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-18-06, 20:00
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,458
Thanks: 431
Thanked 4,589 Times in 4,342 Posts
Default Re: virtual memory low

Wrong forum ed ...try software.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-06, 20:05
ed565's Avatar
ed565 ed565 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: virtual memory low

sorry timw will try software section
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-06, 20:06
beanier's Avatar
beanier beanier is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 308
Thanks: 21
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: virtual memory low

Start>Control Panel>Performance and Maintenance>System>Advanced>Performance/Settings>Advanced/Virtual Memory/Change
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-06, 12:12
bigbazza's Avatar
bigbazza bigbazza is offline
R.I.P. 14/12/2011 - Good Onya Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cairns,Far North Qld,Australia
Posts: 10,768
Thanks: 891
Thanked 331 Times in 293 Posts
Default Re: virtual memory low

Are you using XP Home or XP Pro, or some other OS?

For XP:

Start>Control Panel>System>Advanced>Performance>Settings>Advanced>Virtual Memory>Change>Custom Size

Set Initial size and Max Size to the same number of megabytes.

How much RAM have you?

Common folklore is to set Virtual Memory to 1.5 times RAM, eg if 512 megs of RAM, set VM to 768 (Max and Initial size).

I have 2 gigs of RAM and VM is set to 200 (Max and Min) and it doesn't all get used.
2 gigs x 1.5 would be 3.5 gigs, a total and complete waste of space.

Then click on SET (first) then OK. Do not forget to click on SET first, or it won't work.

Let us know what you decide on. Your message should disappear. Bazza

===

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed565
hi can anyone tell me how to fix this.message keeps coming up when my pc is on .virtual memory to low. the pc says it's increasing more space but it's now starting to load very slow.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:53.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger