MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-07, 18:03
Visionz Visionz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default AGP question

I have a AGP slot that supports 1x, 3x, 4x, but i just bought a 7600gt from newegg.com and on that site it said it supports 4x/8x. So how do i change the 8x to a 4x
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-08-07, 18:25
TheDoug TheDoug is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Undisclosed
Posts: 1,350
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: AGP question

Sounds like you have a card that's going to be running at 4x, assuming the voltage the card operates on is compatible with the mobo slot. This is why AGP slots are keyed-- the card you're getting may not even physically fit in your AGP slot. Check it carefully before trying to force it.
__________________
"I went on the Internets and used the Google."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-07, 18:29
Visionz Visionz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: AGP question

It fits fine. If i play like a old game it will run great but something like Battlefield 2 makes it crash right on startup. But other than that is there anyway to change a 8x card to a 4x card?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-07, 18:35
viper_boy403's Avatar
viper_boy403 viper_boy403 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: McKinleyville, CA
Posts: 2,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: AGP question

it will do that automatically. those crashes could be,and probably are, caused by an insufficient PSU
__________________
What the F?!?!?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-07, 18:37
TheDoug TheDoug is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Undisclosed
Posts: 1,350
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: AGP question

The card is backwards compatible to 4x. It can't run at 8x in a 4x slot, so it is running at 4x. Make sure you have the latest drivers for the card installed-- check the manufacturer's website.
__________________
"I went on the Internets and used the Google."
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 01-08-07, 18:40
Visionz Visionz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: AGP question

i just bought a 400w PSU, its minimum is 350w. So ill scan there website
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-07, 18:58
Visionz Visionz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: AGP question

tried there preffered drivers and still nothing..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-07, 20:52
shanemail's Avatar
shanemail shanemail is offline
Fold On
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Albany, Western Australia
Posts: 1,803
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: AGP question

Ive got the 7600GS running fine on a 4x AGP
the latest game Ive run on it is "Warhammer DOW Anthology" - 2006
no crashing whatsoever

I bought a 500w 'prescott ready' psu to go with it

do you have the power cable plugged into the graphics card ?

What is the model of your card ?
Do you have the latest Nvidia forceware installed ?
__________________
"destroy the mind-destroy the body-but you cannot destroy the heart" - Smashing Pumpkins
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-07, 21:56
Visionz Visionz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: AGP question

I thought i fixed it. A power option in my BIOS was off, so i switched and now it opens all my games but crashes when trying to load a map. I have this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150210
When loading BF2 it says BF2 memory leak error. When i load Everquest it will fully load it until character selection then crash.
Do you think i might need a new MOBO driver or something like that. Because my MOBO is pretty old.
I have a Intel pendelton D845PT mobo, Intel Pentium 4, 1.6ghz, 768mb RAM.

Last edited by Visionz; 01-08-07 at 22:20..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-07, 23:47
Visionz Visionz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: AGP question

Now that i've read more on it. It seems this card requires atleast a 18a@12v rail...which mines is only 16a@12v. So i think that may be the problem.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 01-09-07, 00:07
viper_boy403's Avatar
viper_boy403 viper_boy403 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: McKinleyville, CA
Posts: 2,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: AGP question

was i right? or... was i right? lol jp man, glad you found el problemo
__________________
What the F?!?!?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about the correct protocol to get a question answered at Major Geeks Maggie Software 16 03-26-04 12:45


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:57.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger