MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-07, 10:56
Rimka Rimka is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 28
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Vista error on restart

Hey, I just purchased Windows Vista Ultimate and wanted to upgrade. I install and everything is going peachy until I reach the " Completing upgrade... " screen, it gets to 50% and restarts. Upon restart I get a blue screen of death which states
" Stop: 0x0000007E (0xc0000005, 0x81890762, 0x82c4da68, 0x82c4d764) "
I can't seem to figure out what this is, I know I have enough disk space and I know my RAM isn't bad. I can't even get into safe mode, it stops at crcdisk.sys and just restarts. Please help! ;-;


Ps. Yes, I do have XP pro, yes I did run compatibility checks and everything checked out. my system specs are

AMD Athlon 64X2 4400+
Nvidia Gefore 7900gs
2 gigs of DDR RAM
Windows XP Professional
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-30-07, 11:09
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,906
Thanks: 503
Thanked 1,055 Times in 713 Posts
Default Re: Vista error on restart

Not a lot you can do...remove any peripherals hooked to the machine during the install. From what I gather, its a driver problem,a nd stop 0x7e usually points to that anyway.

I cannot find any instructions for a manual rollback either. Three cheers to early adopters of OSes

Seriously though, there will be growing pains with Vista, and Microsoft's knowledge base is pretty empty. It will be a good 6 months before they knowledge base gets into shape.

Do you have a way of browsing the drive, to see if any any memory dumps were created?

C:\windows\minidump

You can try this to look:

http://geekswithblogs.net/lorint/arc.../22/97794.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-07, 11:13
Rimka Rimka is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 28
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Vista error on restart

I can rollback to windows XP, which I have done twice now. I've been updating every driver I can think of. From what I can tell once I install Vista I have no way of doing anything really, I can pick how I want to boot but I can never actually get anywhere. I'll try that link you sent me, thank you for the prompt reply and hopefully I'll be able to figure this out xP If I do I'll post it here so that anyone with similar problems can see xD haha
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-07, 11:17
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,906
Thanks: 503
Thanked 1,055 Times in 713 Posts
Default Re: Vista error on restart

Well, upgrading is never ideal, and as fas as MS is concerned, they have never been able to get the option to work right, on ANY OS.


Are you using any external drives? SATA?

Updated motherboard drivers?

If you have tried twice, and each time failed the same, all your drivers are updated, and the compat report isn't complaining, then you probably will NOT be upgrading.

make certain all antivirus and firewalls are UNINSTALLED. Not disabled, or turned off. Removed.

Vista is a pretty XP and not much more. The things that stopped XP upgrading, will do the same for Vista.

THe biggest are malware, antivirus, and firewalls, followed by drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-07, 11:22
Rimka Rimka is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 28
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Vista error on restart

No, I'm running PATA (IDE). I also don't have any RAID or anything like that, I like to keep things as simple as I can. If I can't get this upgrade to work I'll try a complete install (That means having to reformat.. how depressing) I'll uninstall my virus protection and everything like that, thank you for the advice!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 01-30-07, 11:26
Gecks's Avatar
Gecks Gecks is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Scotland
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Vista error on restart

If your files are backed up, you could try doing a "clean install" without formating. Basically, most of your old files get put in a "windows.old" folder on the hard drive (DO back up anyway, I would not trust this feature with anything important), and Vista gets installed in a "clean installation". That way, if it does not work, you will atleast have the "windows.old" stuff to make the reinstallation of Windows XP quicker and easier.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-07, 11:33
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,906
Thanks: 503
Thanked 1,055 Times in 713 Posts
Default Re: Vista error on restart

Unless Vista vastly improved the typical Windows install, thats not the case.

It will overwrite the current Windows folder (not rename), but no, should not delete anything else.

With Windows, there is ALWAYS a chance though.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-07, 11:44
Gecks's Avatar
Gecks Gecks is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Scotland
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Vista error on restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrynalyne View Post
It will overwrite the current Windows folder (not rename), but no, should not delete anything else.
Not trying to be contrary here, expecially where we may be just confusing Rimka, but a Vista installation, at least in theory, does rename instead of overwrite key folders:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927839/en-us

That said, I think we can both agree that whatever is supposed to happen to existing folders, it is best to back up first!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-07, 11:54
Rimka Rimka is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 28
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Vista error on restart

I'm not conf used A bit frustrated that I havn't been able to figure this out xP but hey, it's the world of technology, there WILL be bumps along the way XD Still trying to back everything that I care about up and update drivers and things. Thank you both for your help xP
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-07, 12:47
Rimka Rimka is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 28
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Vista error on restart

Well this is becoming increasingly depressing, vista won't get past the " Product key " activation screen now.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 01-30-07, 14:51
Gecks's Avatar
Gecks Gecks is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Scotland
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Vista error on restart

What happens? Is it the same bluescreen?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-30-07, 18:11
Rimka Rimka is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 28
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Vista error on restart

For a while there my vista install was going VERY slow. I finally fixed my problem by doing a "clean" install. you were right about windows.old. Windows Vista is working perfectly and I must say it is absolutely awesome. Thank you all very much ^^ Now off to play with my Vista some more!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-31-07, 08:58
Gecks's Avatar
Gecks Gecks is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Scotland
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Vista error on restart

Hey, glad you were able to get it running!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Vista Vista, whats the BIG Deal? noidly1 Software 8 07-26-07 18:49
Vista installation error: 0x80070241 yusky03 Software 3 01-11-07 11:53
NEED HELP (restart itself) infoseeker Malware Removal 2 06-05-06 06:50
Xp Restart soupdogg Software 6 04-22-05 12:52
Modem Error Code 10 with every restart. Please help. onelargeprawn Hardware 9 11-09-04 00:00


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:32.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger