Memory Utility

Discussion in 'Software' started by BB-JW, Feb 19, 2007.

1. BB-JW

BB-JW Private E-2

I work in retail and customers are always asking me how the memory is configured on laptops. Is there a utility that will show how many slots a mother board has and how the current memory is configured that I can put on my flash drive?

2. ASUS

ASUS MajorGeek

3. bigbazza

bigbazza R.I.P. 14/12/2011 - Good Onya Geek

Welcome to Major Geeks.:) ;) :wave
    First up, it is not recommended to use your email address as your nickname.
    Think of another nickname and maybe ask the moderators to change it for you.

Secondly, I don't think EVEREST is a "no-install" program, so is not really suitable for a USB stick, unless you want to install it the download on every PC/laptop you test.

An alternative might be to go onto the Net to www.crucial.com and do an on-line scan.

Most (All?) laptops have only 2 memory slots :cry :( and brochures should say whether 1 or 2 slots are filled.
    Nowadays, on nearly all new laptops, only 1 slot is filled and 1 is spare.
    No guarantees on this, though. RTFM. :D Bazza

===

4. hopperdave2000

hopperdave2000 MajorGeek

As for a 'no install' program: try 'Aida32'... it looks almost exactly like Everest and it is stand alone app; ideal for a USB thumb drive (it's on mine ;) ) It does basically everything that Everest does and you can download it right here from MG......

hopperdave2000

5. bigbazza

Thanks, hopperdave, for the alternative (Aida32), :major
    I'll download it and copy it to my USB stick, as well. :cool Bazza

PS:
    Link to Aida32, for anyone interested.
    AIDA32 - Personal System Information 3.93
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download181.html
    Baz

===

Last edited: Feb 20, 2007
  6. BB-JW

BB-JW Private E-2

Thanks all :) I am checking Everest and Aida32 now, looks like Aida32 is a good fit.
    Also thanks, bigbazza, for the screen name tip :D

7. bigbazza

You're welcome.;)