connecting 2 PCs via modems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gregm122, Mar 6, 2007.

1. gregm122

gregm122 Private E-2

Hello everyone, i consider myself to have a fairly thorough understanding of computers though i have limited knowledge of networking. i was hoping you all would be able to help me with my problem.
    I wish to connect 2 computers, (a PC and a craptop) which are over 200 miles away VIA telephone modems. I wish to dial the PCs telephone modem from the craptops telephone modem,over standard phone lines, then establish a connection between the two. I know its possible, but i am not too sure how to pull it off. any ideas?
    the next hurdle is that i wish to then, through the remote modem connection, be able to access the internet, which the PC is connected to back home on a seperate CABLE MODEM, from the craptop(which is 200 miles away). the phone line is the only channel out from the craptops location, and paying for an ISP is not an option, as i am trying to get around paying for a second internet connection.
    Thank you everyone who takes a few minutes to help me out, any ideas will be greatly appreciated. :)

2. Docktor D

Docktor D Private E-2

Hi greg
    www.logmein.com (its free) but you can't do certain things that the paid version does.
    www.gotomypc same as above only 30 day or 2 hour total time
    then you must buy
    www.radmin.com excellent program then there's Symantec's
    PC Anywhere
    hope this helps
    Doc:)

3. Colemanguy

Colemanguy MajorGeek

Or if xp pro you can setup remote desktop for free by port forwarding the remote desktop port from your router to the machine inside your network you wish to remote to.

4. studiot

studiot MajorGeek

5. cat5e

cat5e MajorGeek

6. gregm122

gregm122 Private E-2