MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-07, 17:35
stopads's Avatar
stopads stopads is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 62
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Running 2 wireless cards at the same time

Greetings everyone,

I was wondering if it was possible if you can run two wireless cards at one time. One possiblity I thought of might be to use vmware to do it. Has anyone tried it yet? Please let me know. Thank you for your help.
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 03-26-07, 18:19
Fred_G's Avatar
Fred_G Fred_G is offline
Heat packin' geek
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 8,574
Thanks: 273
Thanked 722 Times in 638 Posts
Default Re: Running 2 wireless cards at the same time

Never tried it, but you can use multiple NIC cards in XP and Linux, so I am sure you can use 2 wireless cards. I am not sure what the advantage is, but I am sure you can do it.

E
  #3  
Old 03-26-07, 18:33
studiot's Avatar
studiot studiot is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 4,188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Default Re: Running 2 wireless cards at the same time

Are you trying to create a bridge between two wireless networks? Surely the second receiver will only see what the first can see, unless it is remote.

Studio T
  #4  
Old 03-27-07, 18:56
stopads's Avatar
stopads stopads is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 62
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Running 2 wireless cards at the same time

I'm testing the security of my network. I want to set one for packet sniffing. I read somewhere that it would be easier to use two computers instead of one. Since I don't have an extra laptop, I thought it would be more practical to use one laptop with two NICs and vmware. The second NIC would be run with vmware. If anyone has tried this already please let me know. Thanks!
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 3 monitors. Two Video Cards... Question! smashedpumpkins Hardware 36 03-05-07 11:03
Wireless Cards Will not Connect Destructo Hardware 2 12-06-06 18:26
Dual wireless cards? G_Loc Hardware 1 09-08-05 00:51
Wireless Routers/cards - which is best? Lanik42 Hardware 8 08-03-05 10:49
Need Wireless NIC Cards RightGirl Hardware 2 08-17-04 05:10


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:16.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger