".DAT" & ".PF" files ?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Hypr-Trubl, Apr 2, 2007.

1. Hypr-Trubl

Hypr-Trubl Private E-2

I'm a newbie here, so may I apollogize first for any oversights on my part.
    (but be kind enough to let me know them)
    ......Cool, no complaints already! ;=}

I'm starting out here with 2 hopefully simple questions regarding XP-Pro/SP2
    on an AMD-Athlon-3400+

1)
    "C:\windows\system32\data\...." has large amount of small files like "CTP4891W.DAT" & "CTP0221W.DAT".
    Anyone know what they're for? Some people are saying it's safe to delete these, some are not.

2)
    "C:\windows\Prefetch\....." also has large amount of files like "EULALYZER.EXE-047311D0.pf" and an ".ini" file as well.
    I'm told these are fully safe to delete, but I should re-boot right away. Is this so?

And are there any things I need to know if I do, to either dirs' files.
    No rush for answers, as long as they're accurate.

Thanks all, wicked site.

2. chookers

chookers Staff Sergeant

I think someone gave advice to someone else to empty their prefetch folder when they had a problem; search for threads with prefetch and empty and you might find that thread, although it may not be something you should do. Also, I'm fairly sure dat files are always data files - some can be deleted and some can't. Someone else more knowledgable should see this now and answer it since it's been "bumped" by me answering it.

All the best.

3. greenknight32

greenknight32 Sergeant

Deleting prefetch files normally accomplishes nothing except to make your programs load more slowly next time you use them. The files will be regenerated the next time you open the programs. Outdated prefetch files are deleted automatically after a while, and they aren't very large anyway, so there's really no point.

4. studiot

studiot MajorGeek

trubl huh? Welcome to Major Geeks! ;)

Question is why do you want to fiddle with thse files?