MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-07, 22:18
chookers chookers is offline
Staff Sergeant
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 533
Thanks: 9
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Default Can sfc /scannow be used in Recovery Console??

Hi all,

I have a 2000 machine that ran into trouble with infection some time ago. As far as I can tell, it's clean now. However, we can only boot up in safe mode and I've been using the CD to try and repair the installation.

Is it possible to use the sfc /scannow command in the Recovery Console?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-08-07, 22:20
hopperdave2000's Avatar
hopperdave2000 hopperdave2000 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,203
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Can sfc /scannow be used in Recovery Console??

No.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/222471/EN-US/
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310747/en-us This link is about SFC in WinXP and states that you must be logged in as Admin, which I interpret as you must be in Windows... I could be wrong....

hd2k
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-07, 04:56
greenknight32's Avatar
greenknight32 greenknight32 is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: In the shadow of Mount St. Helens
Posts: 442
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Can sfc /scannow be used in Recovery Console??

This article explains what you can do in the Recovery Console: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/229716
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-07, 06:55
studiot's Avatar
studiot studiot is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 4,188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Default Re: Can sfc /scannow be used in Recovery Console??

Quote:
However, we can only boot up in safe mode
It works fine in safe mode dude.


Studio T
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Recovery Console blkittygirl Software 7 11-19-06 10:23
recovery console mbr ekih Software 1 11-16-06 17:27
Recovery Console Help womfalcs7 Software 2 05-11-06 20:47
Recovery Console??? halflin Software 3 02-06-06 01:28
I need XP Recovery Console camarof41 Software 3 03-19-05 15:17


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:35.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger