Magic printer?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JJJIrish05, May 25, 2007.

1. JJJIrish05

JJJIrish05 Sergeant

Ok... I am utterly conffused..... confused confused confused confused confused

So at my office we have this printer, lets call it magicPrinter, this printer is NOT shared, but it is connected to our router because we plan on sharing it for other uses in the near future.

We also have another printer, lets call it frontDeskPrinter, this is obviously the printer that our front desk secretary prints to.

Now normally the frontDeskPrinter works just fine. Except when we plug the magicPrinter ethernet in. Then a few hours later or so everything that the front desk secretary trys to print to the frontDeskPrinter, gets printed at the magicPrinter instead.

Now i'm only an IT intern so I really have absolutely no idea how this is even possible. How can the front desk secretary be printing to a printer that is NOT shared?

Any advice on any possible reason this happens and/or how to fix this would be amazing...

I have unplugged the magicPrinter's eithernet cable so it should be short term fix for the secretarys, but eventually I need to plug it back in and have it shared so others can start using the magicPrinter...

Thanks!

2. padams

padams First Sergeant

does it have an internal or external jetdirect? might want to log into the jetdirect and check the settings in there.

3. JJJIrish05

JJJIrish05 Sergeant

ya... i dont know much about printers other than the fact that i hate them...

so what is jetdirect? how do i log into it? and once i do what do i want the settings to be?

4. baklogic

baklogic The Tinkerer

You need to set the printer that you want to use to default printer.
    When you want to print, , go to file print, and up the top you should see the name of the printer, and this is in a dropdown tab, if you want to print to a different printer to the one shewen in the tab, click the tab, and click on the other printer, before printing.