MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-07, 06:47
sheepondrugs sheepondrugs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Unhappy Router - Cant connect to PC

Hi,

lets start from the beginning..


every month i log into the d-link router (192.168.1.1) to do a quick check up see if everything is running fine,

however, yesterday rebooted the router and nothing would work, no internet, no network,

tried to log into the router 404 page not found, connected it by cable, "limited or no connectivity"

tried to install from the official disk, "router not found, please connect and try again"

downloaded a program called "angry IP" scanned all the IP addresses possible, (dead or live) no active Ips found,


the router is on, and looks to be working fine, but just not recognised by the computer,

i have tried to do a hard reset, but nothing has changed.


any ideas?confused


thanks,


Chris
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-01-07, 08:35
foogoo's Avatar
foogoo foogoo is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 2,485
Thanks: 1
Thanked 264 Times in 241 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

Can you put a static IP ( like 192.168.1.10) and ping 192.168.1.1? Is this wired?
If it will answer a ping and still not respond otherwise you can attempt to download the firmware from Linksys and TFTP it back to the router.

I had a router do this while flashing it with ddwrt.. it would not give me a web interface yet I could ping it, so I FTP'd up the manufactures firmware and it was back working again.

*This is a black diamond stunt - proceed at your own risk*
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-07, 10:47
KingSteve's Avatar
KingSteve KingSteve is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,754
Thanks: 34
Thanked 152 Times in 150 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

sounds like your dhcp turned off and youre not getting an IP from the router. that might explain not being able to get the web page. do what foogoo said and put in a static ip and try from there.
__________________
Internet is neat!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-07, 11:11
BILLMCC66's Avatar
BILLMCC66 BILLMCC66 is offline
Bionic Belgian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: BRUGGE BELGIUM
Posts: 5,433
Thanks: 371
Thanked 663 Times in 541 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

Thats unbelievable i have just posted with a similar problem

http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=127835
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-07, 12:53
sheepondrugs sheepondrugs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

set up the static IP

pinged the router, (192.168.0.1 and 192.168.1.1)

either "request timed out" OR "destination host unreachable"


any ideas? confused


'Chris
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 06-01-07, 13:08
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,527
Thanks: 156
Thanked 284 Times in 242 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

Set it back to dhcp, and check if your getting an ip by doing the following.
Start run cmd, then enter key, then in the command line type ipconfig
This will actually check if your not getting dhcp instead of assuming thats the case Lets start with that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-07, 13:44
sheepondrugs sheepondrugs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

dhcp enabled - yes
autoconfig enabled -yes
autoconfig IP - 169.254.233.188
subnetmask - 255.255.255.0
default gateway:


default gateway is blank,

some guy on another forum had the same problem, he rang up tech support and they said to do a hard reset (although it didnt work for me)


'Chris
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-01-07, 18:42
cat5e cat5e is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

169.254.233.188 means that the computer have No DHCP server (usually in the Router) to obtain an IP from.

Seems that your computer can not conncect to the Router (or the Router is busted).

Check the cables, try a static IP and see what is happening.

To check the computer network this migh help.

http://www.ezlan.net/debug.html
__________________
Jack (MS, MVP-Networking).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-02-07, 00:49
BILLMCC66's Avatar
BILLMCC66 BILLMCC66 is offline
Bionic Belgian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: BRUGGE BELGIUM
Posts: 5,433
Thanks: 371
Thanked 663 Times in 541 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

one of the things the tech asked me to do was connect via Ethernet cable which we did but we could still not connect to the router.

when i used CMD-IPCONFIG i repeatedly got the same autoconfig IP address you are getting and the same sub net mask, we found that we could set everything to 0 but if we reset it to 192.168.1.1 the moment we tried to connect it went back to the bad IP.

i hope you find an alternative i did a reinstall but only because i have a second hard drive with a complete backup (i backup every night) so for me it was not a traumatic experience just a bit inconvenient.

i wish you good luck and hope you solve it if you do please will you post the solution just for future reference.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-02-07, 10:37
KingSteve's Avatar
KingSteve KingSteve is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,754
Thanks: 34
Thanked 152 Times in 150 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

the router could be bad. it shouldnt be giving you this much trouble. if youre setting your ip at 192.168.1.1 it will give you problem as well. that would be the default ip of the router. set your ip at 192.168.1.2 and make sure your computer is the only one on it. then run an ipconfig and see if it took the ip. if youre still getting a 169.254 number, there could be a problem with the NIC. disable and renable and try again. if it still wont take the ip, it could be a bad NIC. try with a different computer. also make sure your firewall will allow icmp traffic.
if you get the ip set at 192.168.1.2 and see it in your ipconfig and still cant ping, the problem could be with the router. try to get your hands on a different one and try again.
there could also be a problem with the cable youre using. try a different cable as well.
remember that there will be problems when youre setting static ips in an environment where dhcp is running.

Edit: post 100 woot!
__________________
Internet is neat!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 06-03-07, 18:31
sheepondrugs sheepondrugs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

personally i think the router is broken then,

we have 6 computers in the house, xp and vista

(cable) pluged the router into my computer (without firewall enabled)
no joy, tried another computer, no joy

bought a new router, worked fine first time,

i think the routers software has crashed/corrupted.

the most annoying thing is that the router is less than 1 year old, thanks D-Link :-\




anyways, thanks for all the feeback was worth a try,



'Chris
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-03-07, 20:00
cat5e cat5e is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default Re: Router - Cant connect to PC

On the computers there is No Router software or drivers or any thing functional related to the Router.

The Router itself has firmware embedded in its system that make it run.

Could be that the firmware got corrupted.

Read the manual about Hard Reset and do it.

Hard Reset of the Router might revive it.
__________________
Jack (MS, MVP-Networking).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COnnect to Wireless router but not internet kbd627 Hardware 3 02-26-07 09:48
Can connect through router but not through modem rp5y Hardware 5 09-03-06 16:55
Unable to connect to router - everyone's baffled stogie Hardware 4 07-21-06 15:07
Desktop Adapter will not connect to my router deliahoobervitz Hardware 0 11-18-05 03:22
Cannot connect to router noordinaryspider Hardware 0 07-16-04 09:40


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger