MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-07, 16:44
radiot's Avatar
radiot radiot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 155
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Unplugging HD Cables

Howdy folks,

I run two drives off my mobo, one sata (1), one IDE (0). The bios won't allow me to set SATA to 0. (How come?) Therefore, I am plugging and unplugging HD's to boot to various OS's.. I am wondering if I could unplug only the power cable to the IDE drive, leaving the data cable attached, since it is the fragile cable. Will this damage anything?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 07-23-07, 18:27
noahawk's Avatar
noahawk noahawk is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Unplugging HD Cables

No, it shouldn't damage anything with the system. Unplugging either cable should achieve the same result.
__________________
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-07, 18:36
studiot's Avatar
studiot studiot is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 4,188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Default Re: Unplugging HD Cables

You could just add some lines to your boot.ini, unless one of the OS is Vista. Then it is a trifle more complicated.
__________________
'If it ain't broke'
Fix it until it is'
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-07, 20:50
Ironsnipe's Avatar
Ironsnipe Ironsnipe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Unplugging HD Cables

In BIOS, sometimes you have to choose SCSI to boot into your SATA drive. Try different settings like that. It doesn't hurt. Also make sure your BIOS is up to date with the current version. Also, what MOBO do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-07, 01:25
Bill_Marsden's Avatar
Bill_Marsden Bill_Marsden is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 2,018
Thanks: 6
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Default Re: Unplugging HD Cables

Since you're swapping drive cable anyhow, you could get a removable hard drive bay with two cartridges. This would simplify the process enormously.

Of course, this would eliminate one or the other interfaces, so the hard drive might also need to be changed. So far I've avoided SATA.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE Cables CarolH Hardware 7 10-20-06 07:27
Cables? comperroruter Hardware 2 12-23-05 18:38
2 different cables GEEK WANNABE Software 12 08-07-04 15:47


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:11.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger