virus protection for Windows ME

Discussion in 'Software' started by lyn, Jul 30, 2007.

1. lyn

lyn Private E-2

A problem has come up, I have been using trend PCcillin for virus protection for 7 years ( yes it is a very old system) and they no longer support Windows ME I googled and came up with a free one called "avast" But Trend had an add for ME on the same page so that one may not support ME either!

I'm not able to get an external harddrive that supports ME either. Dynamond recomended a 1 GB usb flashdrive for that problem.

I hate to spend $ on this ole thing, what would it cost to put XP on it? Its 2GB, 60 GB HD with 512 Ram (?) its so old I'm not sure! My old truck is always first in line for extra cash.

Thanks for any help,
    Lyn
    You guys have been very helpful keeping it going this long!

2. evilfantasy

evilfantasy Malware Fighter

3. Natakel

Natakel Guest

I'll second the Avast vote. I've used it on Win98SE, 2000, and XP with great results.

Reference Windows XP - I purchased a retail version "upgrade" of XP home at Wal-mart a year or so ago for $100.00. Not sure if you can find it in stores now that Vista is out. Check here for examples you can get on-line:

http://www.directron.com/systems-operating-systems.html

I do most of my computer related business with this outfit - they are based in Texas. Newegg also sells operating systems.

4. lyn

lyn Private E-2

Thanks,
    Glad to have 2 positive responses to the Avast protection. I did get this :

To answer your question, please be informed that the 2007 versions for Anti virus and Pc-cillin do not support the 98/ME platforms. I would suggest that you just renew the exisiting license for 2005/2006 versions and continue using that version.

From Trend. Thier telephone support did not suggest that? I've never had a virus or ? anything shut this computer down in the 7 years i've had it. If you think Avast is just as good I sure don't mind saving the money!