MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Malware Removal
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Malware Removal Malware removal forum. Please see the READ ME FIRST thread before you post. Forum is staffed by a small number of volunteers, please be patient.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-07, 12:54
texasharper's Avatar
texasharper texasharper is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South of Nashville but my heart is in TEXAS!
Posts: 172
Thanks: 26
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default newbie here...please excuse if i ...

What does it mean when virus scanner says
"unable to scan: the file is a decompression bomb"
"unable to scan: archive is password protected"
"unable to scan: OLE archive is corrupted"
"unable to scan: installer archive is corrupted"

and what should i do about it?

thank you for any and all help!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 07-31-07, 13:03
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,567
Thanks: 437
Thanked 4,615 Times in 4,364 Posts
Default Re: newbie here...please excuse if i ...

This is fairly typical with some scanners (which are you running and why).

Are you having malware issues?

If so, what are they?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-07, 13:23
texasharper's Avatar
texasharper texasharper is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South of Nashville but my heart is in TEXAS!
Posts: 172
Thanks: 26
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: newbie here...please excuse if i ...

uh, avast 4.7, i know it's neccesary to have anti-virus software...am i not supposed to run scans for viruses?
i am not sure what you mean by issues...but it hasdetected several viruses and a trojan. does that help?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-07, 13:24
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,567
Thanks: 437
Thanked 4,615 Times in 4,364 Posts
Default Re: newbie here...please excuse if i ...

Yes it does.....

Please follow our standard cleaning procedures which are necessary for us to provide you support. Also there are steps included for installing, running, and posting HijackThis logs as attachments.
  • Run ALL the steps in this Sticky thread READ & RUN ME FIRST Before Asking for Support
  • Make sure you check version numbers and get all updates.
  • Very Important: Make sure you tell us the results from running the tutorial...was anything found? Were you unable to complete any of the scans?...Were you unable to download any of the tools?...Did you do the on-line scans as suggested? etc.
  • After doing ALL of the above you still have a problem make sure you have booted to normal mode and run the steps in the below link to properly use HijackThis and attach a log:
Downloading, Installing, and Running HijackThis
Make sure you also rename HijackThis.exe as suggested in the procedures. Use analyse.exe for the new name. This is very important due to some new infections going around.
  • When you return to make your next post, make sure you attach the following logs and that you have run these scans in the following order too:
    • CounterSpy
    • AVG Antispyware log - ONLY IF NEEDED you were not able to run CounterSpy
    • Bitdefender - from step 6
    • Panda Scan - from step 6
    • runkeys.txt - the log from GetRunKey.bat
    • newfiles.txt - the log from ShowNew.bat
    • HijackThis
NOTE: You can only attach 3 files in a single message so it will require that you use two messages to attach all of these logs!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-07, 14:42
texasharper's Avatar
texasharper texasharper is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South of Nashville but my heart is in TEXAS!
Posts: 172
Thanks: 26
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: newbie here...please excuse if i ...

will do. Thank you for your prompt reply. i must tell you ...i am petrified. i do not have alot of confidence in my computer skills. please no 2x4's.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 08-01-07, 09:56
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,567
Thanks: 437
Thanked 4,615 Times in 4,364 Posts
Default Re: newbie here...please excuse if i ...

The Read and RUn instructions are detailed, but easily performed.

Do all that you can and attach the logs when finished.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speeding excuse! Franklin The Lounge 1 11-03-05 02:46
Tech Support Excuse Generator kadavill The Lounge 0 08-20-05 07:08


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger