help me build pc

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by infoseeker, Aug 10, 2007.

1. infoseeker

infoseeker Master Sergeant

its my first time (virgin) to build a pc (for my friend)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

motherboard- P5VD2-MX SE

my question is:
    * is the connection of combo rom to motherboard is ok?
    * sata cable from HD to mthrbrd?
    * usb wire from front usb port to motherbrd?

thanks in advance

2. hopperdave2000

hopperdave2000 MajorGeek

Everything looks good, except you should use an 80pin cable (instead of the 40pin cable you now have) on the DVD drive. Most newer optical drives seem to work better on the 80pin cables. As for the USB; I can't tell in the photos, but it goes like this: pins 1, 3, 5, 7=red, white, green, black=pins 2, 4, 6, 8 In other words, the wires go on in the same order on the odd numbered pins and the even numbered pins... that's it! :D

hd2k

3. infoseeker

thanks so far now all is doing fine only the audio.
    i installed the audio driver but still no sound.
    i searched google, found out it must be enable in BIOS
    i surf the BIOS, i only found and changes there is:
    Floopy= able to disable
    PlugNplay= no to yes

where can i find it?

thanks in advance

4. hopperdave2000

hopperdave2000 MajorGeek

In the BIOS, the on board audio driver would be under "Integrated Devices" or it might be called "On Chip Devices". I think that by default it's enabled or set to Auto. If the audio is listed in the device manager, then it's enabled in the BIOS. If it has a red 'X' or a yellow '!' or a yellow '?' that means the device has been disabled, or the driver is not installed correctly, or the driver is not installed at all. So, look under "Sound, video, and game controllers" in your device manager, and post what is listed, and we'll go from there....

hd2k

5. infoseeker

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

so i think its enable in BIOS cause in windows audio service is running
    so what do you think? what i must do now?