Windows Media Player Running the CPU at max

Discussion in 'Software' started by basketball, Sep 30, 2007.

1. basketball

basketball Private E-2

Hi,
    This happened about two or three days ago, when i started playing a playlist of music in the windows media player 11 in my laptop, CPU started to run around 100% (Core 2 DUO 1.6ghz) consistently and even when i stop playing songs CPU was at about 85%, and I was not using any other application that require lot of CPU usage. Another thing i noticed was that memory was running normal, around 30% (I have 2GB of memory).
    When i close the media player it returns to normal speed (CPU). I even tried rolling back to WMP 9, no luck. My laptop works fine when WMP is not opened and there aren't any error messages even when WMP is running the CPU 100%.
    Only things that might have contributed to this problem are uninstalling URGE, Realplayer, and Winamp before this problem started.

Any help would be appreciated
    Thanx

2. basketball

basketball Private E-2

BTW, I have been using the WMP11 since I got my laptop (end of august 2007) and I also ran AVG virus scan, Spybot Scan and CCleaner. There were no viruses nor spyware and registry issued fixed by CCleaner did not help

3. dlb

dlb MajorGeek

This won't fix the problem, but maybe try a 3rd party media player like VLC or Gom or Media Player Classic. If the problem persists with a 3rd party player, then you know it's an OS issue and not just in the media player....

4. bigbazza

bigbazza R.I.P. 14/12/2011 - Good Onya Geek

If you couldn't solve your problem, I was going to recommend Musicmatch Jukebox (MMJB). But googling for the latest version I see that it was taken over by Yahoo, then discontinued by them and forcing users to use a "new" Yahoo product.

Reading the reviews of the old and new Yahoo versions I am not going to suggest "MMJB" as an alternative. I'll be sticking with what appears to be the last non-Yahoo version. (8.10.2017CJJ).