MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-07, 09:54
nhhorseman nhhorseman is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Error: The path is too deep.

I operate a small wireless network at home between my laptop and PC. I often copy files from one computer to the other using Windows Explorer, drag and drop. No problems until the past two days. When I drag a file from one computer to the other and that file has any size to it, over 10 meg for example, I get this message after 90% of the copying is done.

Cannot copy (File Name): The path is too deep.

Any idea why and how to correct it? Running Windows XP Pro, 512 ram

Jim

Last edited by nhhorseman; 10-13-07 at 09:56.. Reason: Forgot to say what OS I was using.
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-13-07, 12:30
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 19,162
Thanks: 514
Thanked 1,120 Times in 755 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

How deeply nested is the directory you are copying to?
  #3  
Old 10-13-07, 12:45
nhhorseman nhhorseman is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

I am going from

C:\a5v8\upgrades\build1811\a5patch.exe

to network drive

\\Position1\c\a5v8\upgrades\build1811

The funny part is, this is a 25 meg file and it gets copied 90% before I get the error. I have the same problem copying photos

From:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\My Pictures\Family\Jim_Sandy\2007\October Reunion

To:
\\Position1\c\Documents and Settings\Authorized User\My Documents\My Pictures\Family\Jim_Sandy\2007\October Reunion

BUT
I have been doing this all along without a problem prior to now.
  #4  
Old 10-13-07, 13:32
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 19,162
Thanks: 514
Thanked 1,120 Times in 755 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

Go to Dev Manager on each machine.

Go to the properties of the NICs being used.

Set them from auto negotiate speed to 100Mbps, full duplex.

See if the problem persists.
  #5  
Old 10-13-07, 13:52
nhhorseman nhhorseman is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

I went to Control Panel
to System
to device Manager
to Network Adapters
to Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
to Properties
I don't see anything about negotiating speed.
I see tabs
General
Advanced
Driver
Details
Resources
Power Management

What I didn't tell you is that I am working thru a wireless extender which uses the house wiring to connect the adapter to the DSL gateway. Not sure if this has any bearing on it because I haven't changed anything in that setup since I put it in a couple years ago.
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 10-13-07, 14:32
studiot's Avatar
studiot studiot is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 4,188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

This is a catch-all error message which can have a variety of sources.

In your case I don't think the paths listed are too long (should be less than 254 characters inc spaces and slashes)

I don't think there are too many spaces (should be less than 10)

Also the network starts to copy but doesn't finish, so is accepting the paths.
You also state that the problem is limited to larger files?

Data is transferred in packets via TCP/IP on your network.
At some point near then end of transmission, the network receiver is loosing a packet or part of a packet.

I assume you don't have additional new traffic (users) causing 'collisions' ?

This means that I would look for a physical cause. Have you moved the pcs or router further apart?
Have you introduced a new object between them?
Is the disk nearly full or aging?
__________________
'If it ain't broke'
Fix it until it is'
  #7  
Old 10-13-07, 15:02
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 19,162
Thanks: 514
Thanked 1,120 Times in 755 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhhorseman View Post
I went to Control Panel
to System
to device Manager
to Network Adapters
to Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
to Properties
I don't see anything about negotiating speed.
I see tabs
General
Advanced
Driver
Details
Resources
Power Management

What I didn't tell you is that I am working thru a wireless extender which uses the house wiring to connect the adapter to the DSL gateway. Not sure if this has any bearing on it because I haven't changed anything in that setup since I put it in a couple years ago.

Its under advanced.

Under my virtual machine, its called Connection Type.

However...you are using wireless cards?
  #8  
Old 10-13-07, 15:07
studiot's Avatar
studiot studiot is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 4,188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

Adrynalyne may be right that you can control the nic mode. My 3-com nic doesn't have that luxury.

You may be better trying the slower speed (10) for reliable transfer of larger files.
__________________
'If it ain't broke'
Fix it until it is'
  #9  
Old 10-13-07, 16:17
nhhorseman nhhorseman is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

I have to answer NO to all your questions. Sometimes, and I should have mentioned this, the message is (and I am not writing this literally) something to the effect "Network path cannot be found or is no longer available".
When I transfer several meg of pictures, it transfers 10 to 20 of them and then I get the path too deep or the network path not available message. It will say "unable to copy family.jpg because the path is no longer available.

Hell, I can live with it. When it happens, I put the data on my memory stick and walk down to the basement and put the data on with that. I have not noticed this problem going from the PC to the laptop, only from the laptop to the PC. But, I don't usually transfer much from PC to Laptop.
  #10  
Old 10-13-07, 16:19
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 19,162
Thanks: 514
Thanked 1,120 Times in 755 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

That sounds a lot like you simply have too weak or unstable of a wireless signal.
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 10-13-07, 16:26
nhhorseman nhhorseman is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

No, I am not running wireless cards. I use the laptop built in wireless and the wireless extender to the router which is connected with a cable to the computer.
  #12  
Old 10-13-07, 16:28
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 19,162
Thanks: 514
Thanked 1,120 Times in 755 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

That is still wireless.
  #13  
Old 10-13-07, 16:32
studiot's Avatar
studiot studiot is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 4,188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Default Re: Error: The path is too deep.

Quote:
the basement
Quote:
have too weak or unstable of a wireless signal.

Quod Erat Demonstrandum

Quote:
I use the laptop built in wireless
That is a wireless card!
__________________
'If it ain't broke'
Fix it until it is'
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run-time error: '76' Path not found when creating a directory ceal21c Software 5 09-26-06 13:15
Deep-fried PC Just Playin The Lounge 2 01-12-06 19:12
I'm in DEEP SHITE! Please Help RezRunner Software 6 08-22-05 04:40
Deep Thoughts on... Just Playin The Lounge 11 03-31-05 01:54
Deep Freeze snuggllyone Malware Removal 2 07-18-04 22:28


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:06.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger