MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-07, 16:29
Just Playin's Avatar
Just Playin Just Playin is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: At the bottom of Bass Lake
Posts: 3,827
Thanks: 67
Thanked 303 Times in 263 Posts
Default display command line output in a Java GUI

I have a friend taking an introductory Java class. She is having a problem and asked me for help (I have somehow become a computer expert to my friends because I can do a bit more than hit the power switch and hope nothing goes wrong). I fixed a few minor bugs but this is a bit beyond my scope. If anyone reading this could point out a good tutorial or other help, I would appreciate this. I have done many searches and looked through the textbook for something that might help, but I'm coming up blank.: :
Attached Files
File Type: zip Inventory4.zip (5.9 KB, 9 views)
__________________
The most dangerous man in the world is the one with nothing to lose.

Last edited by Just Playin; 10-20-07 at 16:33.. Reason: add source code for program
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-21-07, 11:37
noahawk's Avatar
noahawk noahawk is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: display command line output in a Java GUI

So she wants to display text in the GUI? There are two different ways to do it. One way is to use a JLabel for each line of text and the other is to use the drawString method. I believe drawString is mostly used in a paint method, and JLabel may be better suited to how it looks this needs to be displayed. Here is a link about drawString, and here is a place to search and find out about methods and classes available in Java. If they are not using Java 1.5, change the 1.5.0 in the last link to 1.4.2 and you'll have access to everything used in that version.

I hope this helps in getting them started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Output to a Java Panel + Java button trp Software 0 04-23-07 13:19
Command line in XP Home stu247 Software 2 04-03-06 14:22
AD-Aware Command Line moe m Malware Removal 3 07-12-04 06:57
Command Line DVD Player chmx44l Software 0 01-23-04 07:24
Command line lookup goldfish Software 2 04-01-03 11:56


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:53.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger