MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-07, 18:19
Help-is-needed-quickly Help-is-needed-quickly is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 60
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Being online, I can not acces Internet Explore (From time to time)

Hello there,
Im having a few difficulties understanding why I can be perfectly online, using MSN, email-client, and other internet-based activities (meaning the connection is allright), but when it comes to using Win Internet Explorer, very often it just says something like Internet Exlorer cannot show the selected page.

This happens when trying to open anything from Google.com to Yahoo

I havent got a clue what it could be - maybe malware I dont know, but have run several tests and it seems to be ok..

Any surgestions to further presedure???


THX
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-07-07, 18:33
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,908
Thanks: 453
Thanked 4,701 Times in 4,438 Posts
Default Re: Being online, I can not acces Internet Explore (From time to time)

I've moved your thread to software as that is more than likely the venue for this...

Have you tried a different browser (like FireFox) to see if that gives some clue as to the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-07, 05:50
Help-is-needed-quickly Help-is-needed-quickly is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 60
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Being online, I can not acces Internet Explore (From time to time)

Havent tried Firefox, will do that. However on a longterm basis Im quite sure I would prefer Win. Int. Explorer.

Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-07, 11:14
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,908
Thanks: 453
Thanked 4,701 Times in 4,438 Posts
Default Re: Being online, I can not acces Internet Explore (From time to time)

You need to tell us if any other browsers work...to try to track down the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-07, 12:17
Help-is-needed-quickly Help-is-needed-quickly is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 60
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Being online, I can not acces Internet Explore (From time to time)

hello again,
I have tried to install and use FireFox, but the same problem occours. As mentioned it is not all the time that it is out of "order", but often.

MSN, and Outlook works fine in the background, however when opening up a browser window, it searhces/looks for the host. And comes up with" PAGE CANNOT BE SHOWN":... then when I have pushed REFRESH several times, including closed down the window, and reopend it, it works - sometimes ;-)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 11-08-07, 12:38
TimW's Avatar
TimW TimW is offline
MajorGeeks Administrator - Jedi Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The recesses of my mind!
Posts: 46,908
Thanks: 453
Thanked 4,701 Times in 4,438 Posts
Default Re: Being online, I can not acces Internet Explore (From time to time)

What is your setup? Dialup...dsl ..cable? Have you a router with other computers connected, and if so do they experience the same problem? Do you have toolbars and add-ons with these browsers?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-10-07, 06:10
Help-is-needed-quickly Help-is-needed-quickly is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 60
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Being online, I can not acces Internet Explore (From time to time)

I have DSL (15 mbps connection), and have a wireless router connected. I have two computers on the setup. One wirelessly, and the other wired. The wired one seems to be ok. I have tried to use the cable wih both computers and everything is in order. However wireslessly I bump into problems regularly. Have only tried with one of the computers, cause the other one doesnt have a wireless network card installed.

any ideas, `??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long time listener first time caller rdmctigger Majorgeeks Welcome Center 5 03-10-07 07:55
Pest Patrol finds CWS.GoogleMS.3 time and time again bigbazza Software 0 09-02-06 16:40
slow load time/run time, something's weird duncan2005 Malware Removal 2 04-10-06 00:31
Long time reader, first time poster...Big time problem... Sting36e Malware Removal 12 02-05-06 02:36
reboot every time i get online zlaughin Software 28 07-07-04 16:30


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger