MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-07, 18:09
JohnSais JohnSais is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cannot connect to internet through home network

Hello

I've been successfully running internet on my laptop as a client through my XP home network with internet connection for some time now. It's not used very often but has always worked OK. Now suddenly I'm getting a 'Limited Connectivity' message and cannot see my network unless I manually configure IP addresses, but still can't get onto the internet. Cant even ping addresses with ip numbers or domain names.

All I've changed is my ISP (still on broadband, same router) and installed Comodo firewall, which has automatically detected my network and sees the incoming connection.

What's up here, any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-28-07, 13:00
Jamiko's Avatar
Jamiko Jamiko is offline
Staff Sergeant
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The Chum Bucket
Posts: 468
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Cannot connect to internet through home network

I suspect the firewall, does it work ok if you turn off the firewall?
__________________
1% Evil, 99% Hot Gas
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-07, 15:53
JohnSais JohnSais is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Cannot connect to internet through home network

Hello & Thanks for reply

Eventually managed to get the PCs on the network to see each other by manually configuring IP address on client.

Turn off Comodo Firewall and client can connect to Internet, turn it back on and nothing through client but host still OK. Firewall has detected the network and allows me to file share etc, just can't use the internet via host.

Can't find any answers on the Comodo site for this, it's strange.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pc is part of another domain, but won't connect to home network dust11 Hardware 4 08-02-06 10:50
How Do I Connect To The Internet Via Wireless Network? HasSanK Hardware 10 01-14-06 11:52
Home wireless network, no internet. MutD Hardware 2 09-22-05 15:21
won't connect to internet but network ok siliconacid Malware Removal 3 04-08-05 17:14
Trying to Connect to a Home Network minuet440 Hardware 2 06-23-04 12:02


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger