MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-08, 09:55
magz magz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Ok, so heres the deal, i was moving a computer that previously worked good but had a ton of useless programs installed. Its a work Computer i was moving for the boss and he asked me to de-cluter it.

it had about 56 programs running in the background so i downloaded a start-up manager and disabled just about everything (which iv done many many times before without problem) then i went into the add/remove and removed some useless macromedia programs and some browser bars.

when i restarted i could no longer get online. i cant ping domains, it doesnt show my own ipconfig but i can send do 8 diffrent printers, and i can see all 14 diffrent computers here at work and can access them.

so far iv tried to re-install my network card, iv tried connecting to another computer for internet and nothing has worked. did i delete a part of windows needed to access the internet?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-03-08, 11:07
kirat kirat is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

try to do this go to run type cmd ipconfig /renew after that type ipconfig /release
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-08, 11:32
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,910
Thanks: 503
Thanked 1,055 Times in 713 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

So...you are advising this user to renew his IP address (that is currently working, btw), and then to break even his network connectivity by releasing his IP?

I think not.

To the original poster:

How does it not show your ipconfig? Is there an error?
Also, what firewall do you have installed?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-08, 11:47
studiot's Avatar
studiot studiot is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 4,188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Quote:
add/remove and removed some useless macromedia programs and some browser bars.
Some removals are not finished until reboot. Did you do this?
__________________
'If it ain't broke'
Fix it until it is'
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-08, 12:00
magz magz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

done that several times
heres a screenie

it can find my default gateway at 192.168.2.1 and everything looks the same as the computer im posting on now but still no internet. i just updated that other computer to IE7 right before it all stoped working also?
also rebooted several times
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 01-03-08, 12:18
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,910
Thanks: 503
Thanked 1,055 Times in 713 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

You have your OS set to use IPv6.

Was this intentional?

Go to network connections in Control Panel.

Right click your nic, be it wireless or wired (which is it?) and choose properties.

What is listed as installed in that first screen?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-08, 13:18
magz magz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

says connecing using realtek RTl8139/810x family fast eithernet nic

this connection uses the following items,

client for microsoft networks
file and printer sharing
qos packet scheduler
internet protocol(tcp/IP)


I uninstalled the v6 thing and rebooted a few minutes ago...still having the exact same problems, ie7 when i run the dianostic tool says i need to check my ports on the firewall http port 80 https 443 and ftp port 21
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-08, 13:22
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,910
Thanks: 503
Thanked 1,055 Times in 713 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

I'd asked previously what your firewall is?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-08, 13:33
magz magz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrynalyne View Post
I'd asked previously what your firewall is?
im sorry, i dont have one, and keep windows built in firewall turned off
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-08, 13:38
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,910
Thanks: 503
Thanked 1,055 Times in 713 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Im skeptical of that.

What is the error when you ping majorgeeks.com?

What is the error when you ping 74.86.201.220?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 01-03-08, 13:47
magz magz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrynalyne View Post
Im skeptical of that.

What is the error when you ping majorgeeks.com?

What is the error when you ping 74.86.201.220?
major geeks pinged 39,38,38,37

reply from 74.86.201.220 bytes 32 time of 47ms ttl 53
''
request time oiut
reply from 74................................."

i dont understand why i can ping things i just cant open internet explorer and see them...just says i have no connection...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-03-08, 14:06
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,910
Thanks: 503
Thanked 1,055 Times in 713 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Is it set to Work Offline?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-03-08, 14:10
magz magz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrynalyne View Post
Is it set to Work Offline?
shouldnt be, i downloaded a start-up manager and installed IE7 at the same time and viewed internet fine...then shut it all down to install ie7 and when it started back up nothing connecting to the internet works.... AIM, Xfire, UPS Shipping, IE7.....
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-03-08, 18:23
studiot's Avatar
studiot studiot is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 4,188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Lets try approaching this from a different direction.

Have you tried internet explorer in 'No Add Ons' mode?

http://blogs.msdn.com/ie/archive/2006/07/25/678113.aspx
__________________
'If it ain't broke'
Fix it until it is'
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-03-08, 18:53
SilverArrow SilverArrow is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

You can try to restore your computer to any previous time before you deleted sth.Somtime I might work, Just my opinion
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 01-06-08, 22:31
magz magz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverArrow View Post
You can try to restore your computer to any previous time before you deleted sth.Somtime I might work, Just my opinion
iv tried this already about a dosen times. it acts like its going to work it reboots and just says it is un-successfull. iv tried it from like 6 diffrent days in each month...


as far as the internet explorer part i assume it think your internet works in the first place, where as no programs using my connection will run. i havent tried it yet but i sure will give it a shot when i get back tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-07-08, 08:53
magz magz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Alright well i also tried the no add-ons and deleted all the toolbars and what not and still nothing loads, aim, xfire, UPS online, IE nor does firefox. i feel its a windows OS kind of problem heres some screen shots i took this morning

when opening IE

When Running Diagnostic ends

Ipconfig/all after i got the first 2 screen shots showing that i can ping websites


anymore ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-07-08, 09:36
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,910
Thanks: 503
Thanked 1,055 Times in 713 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Do a traceroute to majorgeeks.com

tracert majorgeeks.com

Note the first 2-3 ip addresses that come up and post them here.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-07-08, 10:13
magz magz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrynalyne View Post
Do a traceroute to majorgeeks.com

tracert majorgeeks.com

Note the first 2-3 ip addresses that come up and post them here.

??
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-07-08, 10:50
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,910
Thanks: 503
Thanked 1,055 Times in 713 Posts
Default Re: No internet, cant ping in dos, but network works

Im still not convinced there is not a firewall or proxy server playing part here, hence the request.

What do you use for Antivirus?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network cable displays unpluged but Internet works ?? OZ10 Hardware 2 12-12-06 00:29
Cannot ping a computer on a home network Yarko Hardware 10 04-15-06 18:34
Home Network problems - can't ping address Shallow_Grave Hardware 0 10-04-05 08:31
cannot ping to new laptop on wireless network mhsather Hardware 1 09-10-05 17:37
Internet not working, can ping IP, cant ping domain rufomatt Hardware 5 08-10-05 13:28


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:26.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger