MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-08, 18:04
gaslight11 gaslight11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs down No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

I have read previous sim. threads, not sure if they apply to my problem. I have had many problems. All starts w/ fried mobo !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5yr old system.

New mobo: ASrock Intel Pen 4, ConRoe 1333-D667 (package) w/intergral sound; REALTEK HD AUDIO 2.0.9.8 ?? Driver R 1.47.

Original start up everything OK; sound work fine. Had installed everthing on install CD.

Used old 'C' drive w/ everything as before. Shortly started boot problems.

Installed Viedo Acell Card: Nvidia Geforce Fx5500 256M DDR PCI card
w/Driver 56.64. Did not use sound for several days; then the "NO SOUND" was realized, may be conflict !!!!!!

Meanwhile; boot problem got worst, no hot reboot (power supply fried & replaced).

Then "blue" screens: 0x0000007F "UNEXPECTED KERNEAL MODE TRAP" these got so frequent ( some 5min or 1hr ). Tried to do a OS repair, system locked up W/ Black Screen & nasty message. Have Backup 2wks old.

Installed new SATA 'C' drive: Did complete clean reinstall W/ Nivida card on mobo. Installed mobo disk 1st them Nivida disk. Now have A---E drives (Old 'C' is now 'E') + have portable 'F' drive as added backup. Have put copies of most install info & Install Shields in seperate folder.

Reinstall from Backups in parts (copy & paste), some from original disk, have most reinstalled w/ Firewall, all security, maint tools, IE6 & OE data restored. Everything is up and running except for some minor progams (need some info on reinstall instructions to run properly).

OS: MS WINDOWS 2000 Professional W/ IE6, OE, SP1, SP4, all 80+/- UPDATES (new install).

Everything is running smoothly, even fast bootup. Still NO SOUND, MS Media Player, Internet Raido, CD Player all are running/playing -- NO SOUND !!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have access to Realtek Control Panel, checked volume/no mute,set control on '8CH speakers'. tried various plugs w/ headphones NO SOUND.

Haved Remove & Reinstalled REALTEK drivers, Note / MS Support/updates KB925902 & KB928843, KB928843, KB888111 are installed (do I need KB888111 can it be removed). MS also talks about added update KB928843 for "XP" can I install this, maybe solve problem, MS said this was fix for variouse devices including "Realtek".

Do I have a REGISTRY problem, hate to modify = DANGER !!!!!!

I want too proceed w/ caution, need a coach, need to make sure I can undo anything I change. Has been a struggle, there is a soultion out there, yes !!!

I need more confidence, thanks COACH, I ready to go.

Appreciate your help and guideance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-28-08, 20:06
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

Good effort with that info!

Your drivers are here:
http://www.asrock.com/mb/from.asp?Mo...&s=&T=D&ID=282

I would install the chip set driver: INF_XP64_MCE_XP_2K(8.1.1.1001).zip
http://www.asrock.com/mb/from.asp?Mo...&s=&T=D&ID=282
Then, re-boot.
Check your sound. If you have none, re-install the Realtek driver: Realtek_MCE_XP_2K(R1.47).zip
http://www.asrock.com/mb/from.asp?Mo...&s=&T=D&ID=213

If you still don't have sound, I'll need a little info from your Device Manager. Is the Realtek driver showing under Sound, Video, and Game Controllers? Is there a ? or ! next to it? What does it say in properties under the general tab? Is the device enabled?

Use Everest to get a report of your system’s hardware, OS, and drivers. Upload the report as an attachment
Everest: http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4181
Click "Report" at the top of the Everest window, click next to get to "Report Profile", select "Hardware-related Pages", click next, select "Plain Text", click "Finish". Then when it is done processing, click "Save To File". Save it where you want to. (I would use Desktop.)
Click "Go Advanced" in the MG reply box, scroll down a little way until you see "Manage Attachments", click it, browse to your file, click "Upload", and close the window. Then submit the post. You may have to also type something in the reply box, like, "Here's my report.", so that it will submit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-08, 21:03
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

Whoops, I just noticed this is in the Welcome Center. This thread may get moved.
And Welcome to MG.

( I have to start looking at which forum these posts are in! )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-08, 23:03
gaslight11 gaslight11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

Thanks for quick response, here goes Q&A:

1. & 2. Downloaded both "Chip Set Driver" & "Realtek Driver" (saved). How & w/ what, do I use to unzipo these files. I have never unzip anything?????

3. Device Manager / info ---- provide after new install ???

4. Attached file: 4 report text ( EVEREST ).

Thanks , I await reply.

Appreciate your help and guideance.
Attached Files
File Type: txt 4 Report.txt (195.3 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-08, 23:22
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

First, I shouldn't have started answering you in the Welcome Center, but we have started so hopefully a Mod will move this thread to the Driver Forum. If you can't seem to find it later, look around in that forum.

Quote:
How & w/ what, do I use to unzipo these files. I have never unzip anything?????
OK, here is a pretty good app for un-zipping files. Once you install 7-Zip, right click on the .zip file and it should give you the option to open with 7-Zip. Once, you have the file open, look for the setup.exe file and double click it.
http://www.majorgeeks.com/7-Zip_d4603.html

Quote:
Device Manager / info ---- provide after new install ???
Yeah, that will work. It'll save you from posting it twice.

Quote:
Attached file: 4 report text ( EVEREST ).
That'll give me some options for drivers and all the hardware info I may need.

I suggested the chipset drivers first because they are needed to get the audio and some of the other hardware drivers to install. If they are corrupted, you will not be able to get your driver installed. Realtek drivers can be a bare to install but I just found a possible fix for that, so bare with me, this may take a few posts to get you hooked up.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 01-29-08, 02:13
gaslight11 gaslight11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

I followed original instructions:

1. & 2. Unzip files, had some trouble get unpacked and finding setup.exe. Installed ea. seperatly, rebooted, test for sound...........still NO SOUND. Install screens look just like my original disk setup.

3. Device Manager: Yes, "Sound,Viedo & Game" shows Realtek HD Audio w/o 'a' or '!' marks. General / Type: Sound,Viedo & Game Controllers
Mfg: Realtek
Location: 65535 (internal HD Audio)
Note in box: This device is working properly
Useage: Device (enabled)

Everything looks OK, go figure !!!!!!!!!!!!!!



Thanks , I await reply.

Appreciate your help and guideance.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-08, 13:55
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

Go into Device Manager>System, is the Plug and Play (PnP) Software Device Enumerator listed there?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-08, 15:47
gaslight11 gaslight11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

YES it is listed.........

NEXT

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-08, 16:15
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

I'm going to back up a little.
First, are you SURE the speakers are plugged in and in the right jack?
Second, is the Windows Audio service running?
Go to Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services
Scroll down the list of services until you find Windows Audio
Open up Windows Audio by double clicking
Make sure it is running, if not, click on Start.
Third, check in BIOS that your onboard sound is enabled or on Auto.
If these are all OK, then try this.
Uninstall the Realtek software through Add/Remove Programs (if it's installed but not working)
Go into Device Manager, under the system folder, right click the UAA Hi-Def Bus driver.
Disable the device and then uninstall it.
Install your audio driver, then re-boot.

If that doesn't work:
* Copy C:\WINDOWS\inf\machine.inf to a temporary location
* Edit your copy of machine.inf in Notepad
* Remove line 20 (ExcludeFromSelect=*)
* Right-click “Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator” and click “Update Driver”
* Choose “Install from a list or specific location (Advanced)” and click Next
* Choose “Don’t search. I will choose the driver to install” and click Next
* Click “Have Disk”
* Browse to the location of your copy of machine.inf and click OK
* Select “Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator” and click Next
* Wait for the software to install then click Finish
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-08, 17:04
gaslight11 gaslight11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

Answer:
1./2. NO "Windows Audio Service" listed. There are 4 other "Window" items listed ???

3. ONBOARD SOUND
BIOS/CHIP CONFIG : Onbard Board Audio = Auto
Front Panel = Auto
CD-IN = Enabled
On Board Lan = Enabled
????? Where to now...............
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 01-29-08, 22:30
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

Too many threads going, Win2000 doesn't have Windows Audio Service.

Let's try the Intel chipset driver instead of the Asrock one.
INF Update Utility - Primarily for Intel® 3, 900 Series Chipsets
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-29-08, 22:59
gaslight11 gaslight11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

REPLY #2 to THREAD #10:

Alt. Method / "If that doesn't work"

1. I found a sim. file (think it is the one) ???
C:\WINNT\inf\machine = NOTEPAD w/ line 20 "ExcludeFromSelection =*"
2. Divice Manager: Finally got to "Have Disk" and "Browse"; I can Install my modified Notepad file from there.

Did I find the right thing, it looks good, just my MENU verbage is a little different !!!!
Should I proceed w/ this method ????

Thanks , I await your reply.

Appreciate your help and guideance.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-29-08, 23:13
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

Yes, that should work. It's just the slight difference in OS.
I'm working too many OS's right now. I worked on my wife's XP, removing viruses, reinstalled XP for my step-daughter, working on other threads with Vista, XP, 2000, and 98, and I'm on Vista. Losing track of who's who. But we'll get it yet, I hope.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-30-08, 19:25
gaslight11 gaslight11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

I tried 2x--ALT. METHOD-- from THREAD #10. Did not work, I dont think the "P&P Emul driver" changed. ???:o

Should I go ahead w/ the Intel chipset driver---
INF Update Utility - Primarily for Intel® 3, 900 Series Chipsets
you suggested in THREAD #12

Or do you have any new instructions.

the solution is near !!!!!

Apprecate the effort
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-30-08, 20:31
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

Quote:
Should I go ahead w/ the Intel chipset driver---
INF Update Utility - Primarily for Intel® 3, 900 Series Chipsets
you suggested in THREAD #12
Yes, I thought you had tried that already. Make sure to reboot and then install the audio driver.

Did you try everything else I've suggested? It looks like you did after looking back through the thread.
PS. Did you know smoking is bad for you?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 01-30-08, 21:44
gaslight11 gaslight11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

I believe that done I all the above, checked speaker plugs w/headphones, set on 8CH and checked all. Tried CD & Radio ............... No Sound. Maybe made mistakes !!!!:o:o

Did INTEL chip set, reinstalled new download REALTEK Audio Driver.

what next, is it a MS thing w/ updates; see my 1st post........

This boot & reboot gets old but got to solve this one.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-30-08, 22:01
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

I did see the updates you spoke of. Un-installing the Realtek folders is supposed to also take care of this update: KB888111
Just to be sure, I didn't see a response to this:
Quote:
Uninstall the Realtek software through Add/Remove Programs (if it's installed but not working)
Go into Device Manager, under the system folder, right click the UAA Hi-Def Bus driver.
(If there is no AAU don't fret, but after uninstalling Realtek, look to see if you still have this update installed, if you do uninstall it. (KB888111)
Disable the device and then uninstall it. (not necessary if there is no AAU)
Install your audio driver, then re-boot.
Did you do this step?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-30-08, 22:17
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

Actually, after looking back through, I don't understand what is wrong. Way back this is what you said. and if it is still saying that, we have an issue that I don't understand.

I do see in the Everest report, that it shows the Realtek driver and says the codec is unknown. I went to Intel, looked at the boards with your chipset and they use Sigmatel drivers. So in desperation, guess what? Uninstall the Realtek driver, and install this one.
Audio: Sigmatel 9220/9221/9223
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-31-08, 00:19
gaslight11 gaslight11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

DID all of items in Thread #17:
Had not done the UAA HD BUS before; still have KB888111.
What/Where is AAU or did you mean UAA. System had me reinstall UAA HD BUS.
Reinstalled all, I feel like maybe Iam not doing this right, dumb ??

I will go ahead with install "SIGMATEL"driver inplace of Realtek driver

Thanks:o:o:o

Maybe its a bad mobo ????? New but can it be tested ????
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-31-08, 00:59
gaslight11 gaslight11 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Sound / Realtek HD Audio 2.0.9.8 / mobo

PROBLEM: Tried to install "SIGMATEL"
Removed only the Realtek Audio Driver in Divice Mgr.
Reboot sys ask wants to install Realtek Diver....Canceled.....Then went to SIGMATEL Install Shield:started install got MESSAGES.... Overwrite Protection/files exist: C:\Program Files\Intel Desktop Boards\Audio\DISK1\dat1.cab ??? "overwrite; yes to all" when I go next, I get "Object not present" EXTRACTION STOPS/cold.

HELP I don't know about this ?????
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Audio, Install realtek hd audio driver failure VandaliaM Software 22 03-25-08 07:22
Realtek 9'7 Audio issues Gea Software 7 04-16-07 17:34
problem with realtek hd audio (sound to max and still sounds like a whisper) 12hino Software 11 02-22-07 18:00
Realtek AC'97 Audio for VIA (R) Audio Controller sbrister Software 1 11-07-06 12:59


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger